#JoinTheResistance and WIN A COPY OF CINDER!!

Wednesday, October 28, 2015 0
Well, hello there.

It's been....quite a while.
I said I'd be coming back eventually, and I think that eventually will be within the next couple of weeks. I'll be posting more regularly here, and more often over on Reading Teen, and I'm super excited about it! 

Things around here have just been rather hard lately...

But I'm coming back right this second to offer you the opportunity to JOIN THE RESISTANCE for The Lunar Chronicles! I absolutely ADORE this series, and in anticipation for Winter, the final book in the series, releasing in the next few weeks, I have a special Macmillan giveaway for people who haven't had a chance to discover the epic-ness of Marissa Meyer's fabulous series! 
Residents in OKLAHOMA are ready to Join the Resistance! (LOOK AT THESE EPIC POSTERS THAT I  PUT AROUND TOWN!!!) Are you?
(AND LOOK CLOSELY FOR MY SHINY LUNAR TATTOOS ON MY LEFT ARM!)

What do I have to offer? 
A paperback of Cinder by Marissa Meyer
WOOOOOOT!

Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #1

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.


This giveaway is hosted by the publisher. US ONLY. GOOD LUCK!
I'll be back very soon, friends. Til then, enter away! Miss you guys. All my love!

P.S. If you didn't see it on my twitter, a couple of months back, I painted this Lunar Chronicles tote! What do you think?


post signature

BEA Recap: Day One/Two

Monday, June 15, 2015 2
Woohoo! I'm finally back here with an actual post for you guys! I decided I needed to post a BEA RECAP, because I know I love reading everyone else's so I'm sure you guys love reading them too! Plus I want to be able to look back in the future and remember this, which means I need to have it all typed up! 

I suppose I should've titled this MONDAY, TUESDAY, and WEDNESDAY, but oh wells. 

READ ME!!

Thursday, June 4, 2015 4
Basically, I've been absent on here for quite awhile.

Which just means I've been super busy. And planning something epic.

I'll say three words and leave you with the official post.

I SAID YES!!!!!!!


As far as Pivot Book Reviews, I'm not saying goodbye forever. I'm saying goodbye for now. I'm sure I'll be back to post more frequently in the future, but for now, I'm officially Becca, co-blogger of Reading Teen, and I couldn't be more ecstatic, thrilled, happy, overwhelmed, and ALL THE THINGS about it. 

I'm sure I'll see you again in the near future Pivot Book Reviews, but if you want to see me more often before that, check out READING TEEN!

I love you all so much, and I hope you stick with me through this amazing journey I'm about to go on, whether you stop by here every now and then hoping I've made it back or just move on over with me to Reading Teen. Again, this isn't goodbye forever, so please don't leave me! Thank you all for sticking by my side for this long! You can't get rid of me that easily! XOXOXO!

post signature

Into the Dark Series Contest

Thursday, May 14, 2015 0
Hey guys! Today I'm hosting Bree Despain with some very EPIC news about the Into the Dark series! Plus a super amazing contest! Check it out!

My big news: Yes, there will be a third book in the Into The Dark series! Carolrhoda Lab, an imprint of Lerner Books, will be publishing Book 3 (most likely in Fall 2016). That means Haden and Daphne will get the ending to their story that I always envisioned!

Waiting on Wednesday (41)

Wednesday, May 13, 2015 6

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

The Unquiet by Mikaela Everett
Releases on: September 22nd, 2015 ADD IT TO GOODREADS or PRE-ORDER

ARC REVIEW: 5 to 1 by Holly Bodger

1
5 to 1 by Holly Bodger
Published by Knopf Books for Young Readers on May 12th, 2015
Series: No
Pages: 224
Format: ARC Paperback 
Genre: Dystopian
Source: For Review (Thanks Random House!)
Rating: 3/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: In the year 2054, after decades of gender selection, India now has a ratio of five boys for every one girl, making women an incredibly valuable commodity. Tired of marrying off their daughters to the highest bidder and determined to finally make marriage fair, the women who form the country of Koyonagar have instituted a series of tests so that every boy has a chance to win a wife.

Guest Review | Bad Romeo by Leisa Rayven

Tuesday, May 12, 2015 1

Bad Romeo by Leisa Rayven
Published by St. Martin's Griffin on December 23rd, 2014
Series: Starcrossed #1
Pages: 416
Format: e-copy
Genre: New Adult
Source: Purchased
Rating: 4/5
Review by: Sarah @ Words With Sarah
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: When Cassie Taylor met Ethan Hold at acting school, sparks flew. She was the good girl actress. He was the bad boy about campus. But one fated casting choice for Romeo and Juliet changed it all. Like the characters they were playing, Cassie and Ethan's romance seemed destined. Until he broke her heart and betrayed her trust. Now the A-List heartthrob is back in her life and turning her world around. One touch at a time.

Blog Tour | Guest Post | Giveaway - 5 to 1 by Holly Bodger

Monday, May 11, 2015 1

Hey Pivot Book Readers! *squishes* Please take a moment to welcome debut author Holly Bodger to the blog! She's going to talk a little bit about the setting in her book, 5 to 1, today. I just finished reading 5 to 1 last night, and it is such a great story! I'll have my review up tomorrow, but for now, enjoy this fun post and be sure to enter the giveaway at the end! Trust me, you want this book!

Stacking the Shelves (39)

Saturday, May 9, 2015 4



 Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!! 


#IntoTheDark Behind-the-Scenes Video

0

Hey guys! If you haven't heard yet, I'm an Into the Dark Series Ambassador for Bree Despain. What exactly does this mean? Well, it means that I get to share exclusive behind-the-scenes content (Like I did a few weeks ago, with HadenDaphne, and Tobin's Character Profiles and theTeaser Quotes) and fun giveaways like the one I did (still going!!) for The Shadow Prince! Today, I have a pretty epic behind the scenes video for the series!

Bree Despain's INTO THE DARK series is based on two of her favorite Greek myths: Persephone & Hades, and Orpheus & Eurydice. Both are stories about people who ventured into the dark (or the unknown) for the sake of love. Most people are more familiar with the Persephone myth than they are with the story of Orpheus and Eurydice so Bree decided to to make a little 4 minute movie version of the myth for anyone who might want a little refresher course on this tragic tale. The movie was written and directed by Bree's 12 year old son and stars the members of her family--including Bree and all of her messy hair + no makeup glory. Enjoy!

Waiting on Wednesday (40)

Wednesday, April 29, 2015 3

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

Firewalker (The Worldwalker Trilogy #2) by Josephine Angelini
Releases on: September 1st, 2015 ADD IT TO GOODREADS or PRE-ORDER

ARC REVIEW: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey

Tuesday, April 28, 2015 3
The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
Published by Delacorte Press on April 28th, 2015
Series: The Girl at Midnight #1
Pages: 368
Format: ARC Paperback
Genre: Fantasy
Source: For Review
Rating: 5/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures from on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she's ever known.

TRAILER REVEAL: The Eternity Key by Bree Despain

0
Hey guys! If you haven't heard yet, I'm an Into the Dark Series Ambassador for Bree Despain. What exactly does this mean? Well, it means that I get to share exclusive behind-the-scenes content (Like I did two weeks ago, with HadenDaphne, and Tobin's Character Profiles and the Teaser Quotes) and fun giveaways like the one I did last week (still going!!) for The Shadow Prince! Today, I have a pretty epic book trailer for The Eternity Key, which releases TODAY (04/28)!


The Eternity Key (INTO THE DARK #2) by Bree Despain
Releases: April 28th, 2015 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

REVIEW: Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas

Thursday, April 23, 2015 4
Dangerous Boys by Abigail Haas
Published by Simon & Schuster UK on August 14th, 2014
Series: No
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback
Genre: Mystery, Thriller
Source: Purchased
Rating: 4/5
BUY THE BOOK  or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: It all comes down to this. Oliver, Ethan, and I. Three teens venture into an abandoned lake house one night. Hours later, only two emerge from the burning wreckage. Chloe drags one Reznick brother to safety, unconscious and bleeding. The other is left to burn, dead in the fire. But which brother survives? And is his death a tragic accident? Desperate self-defense? Or murder...? Chloe is the only one with the answers. As the fire rages, and police and parents demand the truth, she struggles to piece the story together- a story of jealousy, twisted passion and the darkness that lurks behind even the most beautiful faces...

My Thoughts: 

Dear Dangerous Boys,

Well, I'll admit after finishing Dangerous Girls and ab-so-freaking-lutely LOVING it, I was jonesing for some more Abigail Haas epic-ness in my life, but unfortunately, you're a tough book to get ahold of in the U.S. if someone wanted you in paperback form (which is me because I don't read e-books). So unfortunately, I put off ordering you for a few months, because I hate waiting about 2 weeks for a book from the Book Depository to arrive, but a few weeks ago, I just couldn't stand waiting anymore and placed the order. I literally squealed when I finally found you waiting in my mailbox, because I knew you were going to blow my mind. I read you in one sitting, which is hard for me around this time of the year because I'm overworked and under-slept (I don't think that's a word, but it sounds good), but I forced myself to do it. Sadly for me, you just weren't as epic as I thought you would be. Cue Becca's major sad face.

You follow the story of Chloe, who is just a regular recently graduated teen counting down the days until she skips town and her crappy home life to go to college. Everything changes when Chloe meets Ethan, the cute new guy in town. Alternating in past/present chapters in true Abigail Haas fashion, we follow Chloe, Ethan, and Oliver, who ultimately venture to an empty lake house one night. A few hours later, the lake house is engulfed in flames, with only two people emerging from the burning wreckage, and we are left with a bunch of questions. Who was left behind? Was this an accident? Self-defense? Or cold-blooded murder? 

I really liked Chloe....in the beginning. I understood her wanting to get out of dodge, because honestly? If I were in her position, I'd want out ASAP too. But as your pages kept turning, I grew to not like her and the way she treated Ethan. I really really really adored Ethan. He was the perfect boyfriend and if she doesn't want him, she can sure as heck give him my number any time. I didn't understand her fascination with his brother at all. I didn't like Oliver at all. I didn't want what was developing to develop at all. I'm sensing a lot of confusion on my part with her actions. I just can't even with them right now.

I mean, all in all, you kept me guessing til the end at what ultimately went down in that lake house. It kept me turning the pages deep into the night when I definitely should have been getting some sleep eye. Ultimately that's what I wanted from you. But in the end, you just left me feeling shorted. I wanted to be freaking mind blown like I was with Dangerous Girls, and even though I didn't guess the ending, it still didn't blow me out of the water. Something was just.....missing with you, Dangerous Boys. I haven't pin-pointed exactly what it was. Maybe it's because I started to resent Chloe. I'm really not sure, but I wanted more out of you than what I got, and for that, I'm going to hand you three hearts, because while you didn't blow me away like your predecessor, you still entertained me. You still thrilled me at points. You still shocked me. Just not in the same ballpark that DG did. 

Feeling sad and let-down,

Becca


Have you read Dangerous Boys? What did you think? Did you think it was just as amaze-balls as Dangerous Girls, or did it leave you wanting more like it did with me? What did you think about Chloe's decision and which brother she ultimately chose? (NO SPOILERS THOUGH!) Let's discuss!


post signature

#TheEternityKey Teaser Quotes

1

Hey guys! If you haven't heard yet, I'm an Into the Dark Series Ambassador for Bree Despain. What exactly does this mean? Well, it means that I get to share exclusive behind-the-scenes content (Like I did last week, with HadenDaphne, and Tobin's Character Profiles) and fun giveaways like the one I did on Tuesday for The Shadow Prince! Today, I have some teaser quotes from The Eternity Key, which releases this coming Tuesday (04/28)!

Waiting on Wednesday (39)

Wednesday, April 22, 2015 8

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!



This week I'm waiting on:

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
Releases on: January 2016 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

*SIGNED* #GIVEAWAY #IntoTheDark

Tuesday, April 21, 2015 0

Hey guys! I have a pretty neat giveaway today! I figured today was the perfect day to post it since there's less than 48 hours left in my INTERNATIONAL Stephanie Perkins Giveaway. Be sure you entered! Anyway, I'm an Into the Dark Series Ambassador for Bree Despain. What exactly does this mean? Well, it means that I get to share exclusive behind-the-scenes content (Like I did last week, with Haden, Daphne, and Tobin's Character Profiles) and fun giveaways like I'm doing today for The Shadow Prince! Unfortunately, I can only ship this one in the US, because I have about a month until I leave for NYC for BEA, and I need to save, save, save!

So what am I giving away today?

Stacking the Shelves (38)

Saturday, April 18, 2015 9
 Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!! 


5 Reasons Why I DNF... Becoming Jinn by Lori Goldstein

Friday, April 17, 2015 5

If you know me at all, you know I hate DNF-ing books, especially when it's an ARC that I received for reviewing purposes, because I feel obligated to review it fully. Okay, and books that I purchased too, because I paid money for that and I feel like I wasted the money if I don't read the whole book. BUT, here lately, I've been overwhelmed with books. Some of which are too EPIC for words, and then some are.......well, they bore me to tears, so much so that I will stop reading altogether rather than DNF it. That seems so ridiculous when I think about it. I want to read, because I love to, and if I can't get into a book, then I should be able to not finish it and not feel bad about it. *lightbulb* So a new feature was born! I may have DNF, but that doesn't mean I can't name a few reasons why.

Today, I'm giving 5 reasons why I DNF'd...

Becoming Jinn by Lori Goldstein
Published by: Feiwel & Friends on April 21st, 2015
Series: Becoming Jinn #1
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback ARC 
Genre: Fantasy
Source: For Review (Thanks Macmillan!)
Rating: DNF
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: Forget everything you thought you knew about genies!

Azra has just turned sixteen, and overnight her body lengthens, her olive skin deepens, and her eyes glisten gold thanks to the brand-new silver bangle that locks around her wrist. As she always knew it would, her Jinn ancestry brings not just magical powers but the reality of a life of servitude, as her wish granting is controlled by a remote ruling class of Jinn known as the Afrit.

Into the Dark Series Character Profiles: Tobin Oshiro-Winters

Thursday, April 16, 2015 0
Hey Pivot Book Readers! I've got something pretty special and fun set up for today. I've teamed up with Bree Despain and a bunch of other bloggers to help spread the word about Bree's Into the Dark series. Over the next few weeks, I'll be posting teasers, special excerpts, giveaways, and all kinds of other cool things here on the blog, my twitter, and instagram! But for today, I have three separate posts of Character Profiles of the main characters in the series. Be sure to check out the NEW pretty cover of The Shadow Prince, which just released this past Tuesday, and put The Eternity Key on your wish list, because it releases in just a few weeks! 

Into The Dark Series Character Profile: Daphne Raines

0
Hey Pivot Book Readers! I've got something pretty special and fun set up for today. I've teamed up with Bree Despain and a bunch of other bloggers to help spread the word about Bree's Into the Dark series. Over the next few weeks, I'll be posting teasers, special excerpts, giveaways, and all kinds of other cool things here on the blog, my twitter, and instagram! But for today, I have three separate posts of Character Profiles of the main characters in the series. Be sure to check out the NEW pretty cover of The Shadow Prince, which just released this past Tuesday, and put The Eternity Key on your wish list, because it releases in just a few weeks! 

Into The Dark Series Character Profile: Haden Lord

0
Hey Pivot Book Readers! I've got something pretty special and fun set up for today. I've teamed up with Bree Despain and a bunch of other bloggers to help spread the word about Bree's Into the Dark series. Over the next few weeks, I'll be posting teasers, special excerpts, giveaways, and all kinds of other cool things here on the blog, my twitter, and instagram! But for today, I have three separate posts of Character Profiles of the main characters in the series. Be sure to check out the NEW pretty cover of The Shadow Prince, which just released this past Tuesday, and put The Eternity Key on your wish list, because it releases in just a few weeks! 

Waiting on Wednesday (54)

Wednesday, April 15, 2015 5

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!


This week I'm waiting on:

Walk on Earth a Stranger by Rae Carson
Releases on: September 22, 2015 PRE-ORDER or ADD TO GOODREADS!

Tote(ally) Tuesday (12)

Tuesday, April 14, 2015 7

Tote(ally) Tuesday is a semi-regular post on Pivot Book Reviews, where I showcase the most recent totes I've painted for custom orders on my Etsy!

In my StS over the weekend, I promised that I would have a TON of new totes to showcase for Tote(ally) Tuesday this week, and I'm here to deliver on that promise. ARE YOU READY?

Seriously, are you?

Have you prepared enough?

Okay, I'll stahp. 

ARC REVIEW: The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things by Ann Aguirre

Monday, April 13, 2015 3

The Queen of Bright and Shiny Things by Ann Aguirre
Published by: Feiwel & Friends on April 7th, 2015
Series: No
Pages: 328
Format: ARC Paperback
Genre: Contemporary
Source: For Review (THANKS MACMILLAN!) 
Rating: 4/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: Sage Czinski is trying really hard to be perfect. If she manages it, people won't peer beyond the surface, or ask hard questions about her past. She's learned to substitute causes for relationships, and it's working just fine... until Shane Cavendish strolls into her math class. He's a little antisocial, a lot beautiful, and everything she never knew she always wanted.

Stacking the Shelves (37)

Saturday, April 11, 2015 10
Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!! 

Waiting on Wednesday (53)

Wednesday, April 8, 2015 7
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:
A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis
Releases on: October 6th, 2015 PRE-ORDER or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

ARC REVIEW: Skandal by Lindsay Smith

Tuesday, April 7, 2015 3
Skandal by Lindsay Smith
Published by: Roaring Brook Press on April 7th, 2015
Series: Sekret #2
Pages: 336
Format: ARC Paperback
Genre: Historical Fiction
Source: For Review (THANKS MACMILLAN!)
Rating: 3/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: The dramatic sequel to Sekret, this psychic Cold War espionage thriller follows Yulia to Washington, DC, where she fights to discover the truth about her family without losing control of her mind.

My mind is mine alone.

REVIEW: Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

Thursday, April 2, 2015 4
Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
Published by: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers on March 17th, 2015
Series: No
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Historical Fiction
Source: Purchased
Rating: 5/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: A powerful story of friendship and sacrifice, for fans of Code Name Verity.

Missouri, 1849: Samantha dreams of moving back to New York to be a profession musician-- not an easy thing if you're a girl, and harder still if you're Chinese. But a tragic accident dashes any hopes of fulfilling her dream, and instead, leaves her fearing for her life. 

#WaitingOnWednesday (52)

Wednesday, April 1, 2015 11
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!


This week I'm waiting on:

Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith
Releases on: October 6th, 2015 PRE-ORDER or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

#TheWinnersTrilogy Read-along & Giveaway: The Winner's Crime - Week 4

Tuesday, March 31, 2015 1

Hey lovelies! Today, we kick off the fourth and final week of the Read-along for The Winner's Crime! WAAH! I'M SO SAD IT'S OVER!!! This read-along has been so so so so much fun! (If you have no idea what I'm talking about, check out this post for all the deets and a super epic giveaway, which is also posted at the bottom of this post too!) I'll be discussing the ONLY chapters 34-46 of The Winner's Crime, and my thoughts. If you haven't started reading with us yet, don't worry! There's still plenty of time to catch up, so pick up your copy of The Winner's Crime and start devouring the next installment of Kestrel and Arin's story!

Another WARNING because I don't want to spoil anything for anyone..... If you have NOT read THE WINNER'S CURSE, then read NO further!! 


Favorite Quote(s) from Chapters 34-48:
"I'm going to miss you when I wake up," she whispered. 
"Don't wake up," he said.
Copyright © 2014 Pivot Book Reviews
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs