Waiting on Wednesday (41)

Wednesday, December 31, 2014 16
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

Joyride by Anna Banks
Releases on: June 2nd, 2015 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!


Tote(ally) Tuesday (8)

Tuesday, December 30, 2014 11



Tote(ally) Tuesday is a semi-regular post on Pivot Book Reviews, where I showcase the most recent totes I've painted for custom orders on my Etsy!

LOTS of totes to show you this week. I had my hands full over the past month between my surgery and rough recovery from it (more on that this coming weekend!). This time I hardly got to post any to twitter due to the majority of them being Christmas presents, but I compiled all of them here so you can take a gander! Remember, all totes are available regardless if they are listed in my Etsy shop. You can request a custom order and just tell me that you want an Heir of Fire tote for example, and I'll set up a listing for you. OR if you have something in mind that I have yet to do, I'm up for painting commissions too. That's usually how I end up painting the majority of my totes anyways! :)

ARC REVIEW: This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

Monday, December 29, 2014 8


This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Published by: Disney-Hyperion on December 23rd, 2014
Series: Starbound #2
Pages: 390 
Format: ARC Paperback
Genre: Science Fiction
Source: For Review
Rating: 5/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: The second installment in the epic Starbound trilogy introduces a new pair of star-crossed lovers on two sides of a bloody war.

Jubilee Chase and Flynn Cormac should never have met.

Lee is captain of the forces sent to Avon to crush the terraformed planet's rebellious colonists, but she has her own reasons for hating the insurgents.

Rebellion is in Flynn's blood. Terraforming corporations make their fortune by recruiting colonists to make the inhospitable planets livable, with the promise of a better life for their children. But they never fulfilled their promise on Avon, and decades later, Flynn is leading the rebellion.

Desperate for any advantage in a bloody and unrelentingly war, Flynn does the only thing that makes sense when he and Lee cross paths: he returns to base with her as a prisoner. But as his fellow rebels prepare to execute this tough-talking girl with nerves of steel, Flynn makes another choice that will change him forever. He and Lee escape the rebel base together, caught between two sides of a senseless war.

Stacking the Shelves (29)

Sunday, December 14, 2014 6

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!

BRIEF HIATUS

Monday, December 8, 2014 8

Just wanted to drop a quick line to let everyone know that Pivot Book Reviews and Pivot Book Totes will be going under a (hopefully) brief hiatus, due to me having to have three impacted wisdom teeth extracted this morning. I'm hoping to be back next week! Until then, send me lots of ice cream and hugs! Love you all!!!

post signature

Compulsion by Martina Boone Book Blitz

Friday, December 5, 2014 2
 

Today, I'd like to give a warm welcome to Martina Boone, author of Compulsion. Below are some details about the book and Martina, herself, but keep reading, because there are also some cool exclusive extras and...wait for it.....a giveaway! Seriously guys, if you haven't picked up Compulsion yet, don't walk, RUN to your nearest bookstore, mainly because you'll finally get your hands on EIGHT BEAUFORT. 

Waiting on Wednesday (40)

Wednesday, December 3, 2014 4

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

Now That You're Here by Amy K. Nichols
Releases on: December 9th, 2014 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!


Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Tuesday, December 2, 2014 0


I get tagged for these things all of the time, but I almost always forget before I have a chance to post them, but not this time! 

Rules
- Thank the blogger that nominated you, and link back to their site.
- Post the award’s logo onto your blog.
- Answer the 10 questions you’ve been asked.
- Nominate 10 other bloggers and ask them 10 questions.

Stacking the Shelves (28)

Sunday, November 30, 2014 5

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!


REVIEW: The DUFF by Kody Keplinger

Friday, November 28, 2014 3


The DUFF:Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger
Published by: Little Brown/Poppy on January 1st, 2010
Series: No
Pages: 280
Format: Paperback
Genre: Contemporary
Source: Purchased
Rating: 5/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn't think she's the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She's also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her "the Duff," she throws her Coke in his face.

But things aren't so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him. 

Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn't such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she's falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING GIVEAWAY!

Thursday, November 27, 2014 9

I want to start this post off by saying, HAPPY THANKSGIVING. Regardless of whether you celebrate Thanksgiving or not, I want each and every single one of you to know how thankful I am to have you as a friend. I can't believe how many of you care what I have to say, and it humbles my heart each time I talk with one of you. I love you all, and to celebrate the giving season I'm going to have a giveaway. Unfortunately, I'm broke because it's Christmas shopping time, so this  giveaway will be for US only. 

I bet you're wondering what I'm giving away, huh?

Waiting on Wednesday (39)

Wednesday, November 26, 2014 5

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

Tote(ally) Tuesday (7)

Tuesday, November 25, 2014 3

Tote(ally) Tuesday is a bi-weekly post on Pivot Book Reviews, where I showcase the most recent totes I've painted for custom orders on my Etsy!

Waiting on Wednesday (39)

Wednesday, November 19, 2014 6


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!


DISCUSSION - Should books in a series have a book recap section?

Tuesday, November 18, 2014 12



Should books in a series have a 'previously in book 1' section?

Stacking the Shelves (27)

Sunday, November 16, 2014 6

Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!

REVIEW: The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel

Thursday, November 13, 2014 7


The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel
Published by: Entangled Teen on November 11th, 2014
Series: The Book of Ivy #1
Pages: 304
Format: Paperback
Genre: Dystopian, Science Fiction
Source: Purchased
Rating: 5/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

FROM GOODREADS: After a brutal nuclear war, the United States was left decimated. A small group of survivors eventually banded together, but only after more conflict over which family would govern the new nation. The Westfalls lost. Fifty years later, peace and control are maintained by marrying the daughters of the losing side to the sons of the winning group in a yearly ritual.

This year, it is my turn.

My name is Ivy Westfall, and my mission is simple: to kill the president's son -- my soon-to-be husband -- and restore the Westfall family to power.

But Bishop Lattimer is either a very skilled actor or he's not the cruel, heartless boy my family warned me to expect. He might even be the one person in this world who truly understands me. But there is no escape from my fate. I am the only one who can restore the Westfall legacy.

Because Bishop must die. And I must be the one to kill him...

MY THOUGHTS: 

Dear The Book of Ivy,

Okay, I'll be honest right of the bat. I hadn't heard anything about you whatsoever until about three days before your release when one of the blogs I co-blog on wrote a review for you, gushing about how much they enjoyed you. Meh. I thought. Then I saw a few more reviews popping up saying the same things. How great you were. Five stars everywhere. All over goodreads. Then, I went to the bookstore, and lo and behold my bookstore had one copy of you. It was like it was fate. My copy of you was meant for me, and me alone, and destiny had me purchase you. Thank goodness for that, because all those reviews and fate/destiny and what-not? They got me to sit down immediately when I got home to read you, and I didn't stop.

Your main character, Ivy Westfall, is the daughter of one of the founder's of a city after the US was obliterated. But he wasn't the only one. A Lattimer beat him to the throne, and now to keep the peace, he has arranged marriages for everyone. Ivy is arranged to marry the president's son, but her family has plans for her other than marriage. She is meant to kill her new husband, Bishop, but Bishop is turning out not to be who she was raised to think he was. 

Ivy was awesome! I loved her character! And Bishop. Oh how I swooned for him with each passing of your pages, The Book of Ivy. I wasn't expecting much out of you, but in a world drowning in dystopian YA novels, it takes a lot for me to say that you stood out in the crowd. Your characters were spot-on. The prose was great. The setting was flawless. Your pace was fast and kept me on the tips of my toes. I had no idea what to expect next. On the surface, you're a typical dystopian YA book, but I would encourage all my bookish friends to take a deep breath and plunge inside your pages. Because I assure them, they won't stop until they've finished you.

At least, that was definitely my case with you, The Book of Ivy. You blew me away, and I'm totally dying after that ending. WHAT THE WHAT?! You can't do that to me! I have no idea how I'm going to wait for the sequel to you, but I shall endure, because I have a feeling it will be one hell of a ride, just like you. FIVE HEARTS!


Still in awe of you,
Becca

Have you read The Book of Ivy?
Do you want to?
What did you think?
Let's discuss!

post signature

Waiting on Wednesday (38)

Wednesday, November 12, 2014 5
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

Geek Girl by Holly Smale
Releases on: January 27th, 2015 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: Geek + runway = a hilarious runaway hit! This bestselling UK debut is full of humor and high-fashion hijinks -- and now it's coming to America.

Harriet Manners is tired of being labeled a geek. So when she's discovered by a modeling agent, she seizes the chance to reinvent herself. There's only one problem: Harriet is the definition of awkward. Does she have what it takes to transform from geek to chic?

Geek Girl is the first book in a hilarious new trilogy. It was also the #1 bestselling YA debut of 2013 in the UK, where it was shortlisted for the Ronald Dahl Funny Prize and won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize for Best Book for Teens. With all the humor and fabulous shenanigans of Louise Rennison's Confessions of Georgia Nicolson and Meg Cabot's The Princess Diaries, Geek Girl is about to become an international superstar.

Why I'm Waiting:
1. DAT COVER. (I love the glasses!!!)
2. Geeky girl? Count me in!
3. Definition of awkward? This sounds like me!

What do you think of my WoW?
What's your Wow?
Link me up! :)
post signature


Tote(ally) Tuesday (6)

Tuesday, November 11, 2014 5


Tote(ally) Tuesday is a bi-weekly post on Pivot Book Reviews, where I showcase the most recent totes I've painted for custom orders on my Etsy!

Not so much to show this week, because of my wrist issues. Maybe next time though! I did paint an Anna and a Fangirl tote on top of these three! But I've already shown them before in my other posts so I decided not to this week.

SLA TOTE *FRONT*

SLA TOTE *BACK*

Custom WICKED tote FRONT & BACK!!!!

A THOUSAND PIECES OF YOU TOTE *FOR SALE*

I'm pretty sure I'm in love with how beautiful this one came out! I'll be kinda sad when someone buys it!

I mostly do custom orders, so if you have something in mind, you can contact me here, or email me at BECCAF97200 AT GMAIL DOT COM! 

Which tote is your fave?

What quote would you absolutely LOVE to see on a tote?!


post signature

REVIEW - Beware the Wild by Natalie C. Parker

Monday, November 10, 2014 3

Beware the Wild by Natalie C. Parker
Published by: Harper Teen on October 21st, 2014
Series: No
Pages: 336
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Gothic/Paranormal Fantasy
Source: Purchased
Rating: 4/5

FROM GOODREADS: It's an oppressively hot and sticky morning in June when Sterling and her brother, Phin, have an argument that compels him to run into the town swamp -- the one that strikes fear in all the residents of Sticks, Louisiana. Phin doesn't return. Instead, a girl named Lenora May climbs out, and now Sterling is the only person in Sticks who remembers her brother ever existed.

Sterling needs to figure out what the swamp's done with her beloved brother and how Lenora May is connected to his disappearance -- and loner boy Heath Durham might be the only one who can help her.

This debut novel is full of atmosphere, twists and turns, and a swoon-worthy romance.

MY THOUGHTS:

Dearest Beware the Wild,

Holy cow! Let me just start by saying, I was not expecting to be blown out of the water by you, but whoa. I totes was. I mean, it's not very often that a debut author can wow me as much as yours did. I sped read through you during one of my busiest work weeks of the year. Usually I don't get to read that much during what I call hell week, but I made the time to read and savor you. You. were. so. UNIQUE! And hypnotizing. And I'm gushing, aren't I?

Well, Beware the Wild, you follow the story of Sterling, who gets in a fight with her brother Phin one morning and he ends up running off into the swamp that everyone in town is warned about never going near, and a few hours later, a girl named Lenora May steps out of the swap. All of a sudden, no one remembers Phin except Sterling and Lenora May takes Phin's place. Everyone swears up and down that Lenora May is Sterling's sister and always has been. They pretty much think Sterling has gone a little cuckoo in the head, if you know what I mean. That is, everyone except Heath Durham.

I really liked Sterling as the main character. I felt everything the way she felt them, even if some of the stuff she did, I didn't fully understand. I couldn't even imagine going through what she did, and Heath? I liked me some Heath!!! He definitely gave me some swoonage. As far as the other characters? I didn't really care for Lenora May at all. She drove me nuts, even when Sterling started changing her tune when it came to her. It was annoying, but near the end, I understood and everything, but grrrrrr. I was so frustrated during that part of you, Beware the Wild.

Your atmosphere was wicked, though. I've never been to Louisiana, but you were everything I imagine it to be like! You definitely had one heck of a plot -- full of twists. Once I thought I knew what was happening....nope, plot twist. I think that's what had me turning your pages so fast. I had to know wth was going on, because everything just kept getting crazier and more action-packed and I'm running out of breath just talking about it. (Except I'm typing this, but still)

Honestly, Beware the Wild, you are book that I wouldn't mind seeing made into a movie. You were that damn good. You were unique and unlike anything I've ever read. I'm desperate to read something else from your author. If anyone was curious about you, I would push you into their hands if they enjoyed something like Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea. You get four stars from me, Beware the Wild!!! Fabulous storytelling, Natalie! 

Wild about you,

Becca



Have you read Beware the Wild?
What did you think?
Let's discuss!

post signature

Stacking the Shelves (26)

Saturday, November 8, 2014 14


 Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!


PURCHASED:
In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken
Talon by Julie Kagawa *SIGNED*
Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick *SIGNED*
Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers
My True Love Gave to Me
Beware the Wild by Natalie C. Parker (not pictured)

GIFTED:
Voice of Dragons by Carrie Vaughn

WON:
Amity by Micol Ostow *SIGNED*

FOR REVIEW:
Zodiac by Romina Russell
The Walled City by Ryan Graudin
The Jewel by Amy Ewing
The Start of You and Me by Emery Lord
Famous in Love by Rebecca Serle

*HUGE THANKS TO MY BESTIE BRAH SARAH (LOVE YOU), Egmont, and Andye (LOVE YOU TOOOOOO!)*
WHAT'S HAPPENING IN BECCA LAND?
Well, not so good in Becca Land this past week, unfortuantely. Things the past two weeks have been nuts, especially with work. Good news is that work has exponentially dropped since Halloween so YAY for Vacation time. Bad news is I've hurt my wrist. Not just any wrist either. My right wrist. (I'm right handed) This has been a travesty for me, because just doing simple things is so very hard for me at the moment. I didn't sprain it or anything. Idk what the deal is exactly, but I woke up last Sunday in the middle of the night with horrible, horrible pain radiating from my fingertips to my elbow and all of my fingers were numb except for my pinky. The past couple of weeks I have noticed that the tips of my fingers in my right hand would become numb while I was painting, but that was no big deal. This was a huge deal though. No matter what I did, I couldn't get the feeling back in my fingers and the pain was just awful. I did some research on the web (BAD BECCA) and it seems most likely that I have severe carpal tunnel. I thought maybe it would get better throughout the week if I rested it, which explains my lack of posts this week, but alas, it hasn't. I also dread and hate going to the doctor, because I just don't like it at all, but I'm going to have to. The majority of the day I spend with a numb hand, and it's very hard to grasp anything without gasping in pain. What makes matters worse is that my right hand is also my painting hand. I had three totes to paint this week, and usually I can have that many done in a snap (or a day), but this week, that so wasn't the case. It took me a whole dang week to paint three bags. I felt horrible for my customers because I know they want their bags ASAP but it's hard to paint quality work with a numb hand. I got it done, but for the foreseeable future, I might not be turning out totes as quickly as I used to. I'm not sure what the doctor is going to do to me on Monday, but whatever it is, I desperately hope it's something that will help. I'm also terrified, because from what I read about it, carpal tunnel is usually the sign of an underlying issue..which can be rheumatoid arthritis (which runs in my family), diabetes, or a thyroid issue. I hope that's not the case, but we shall see. Keep me in your thoughts on Monday. I'll be sure to update everyone!

Other than that, I've been trying to read, but of course, that's difficult as well. The most notable book I've read this week is The Start of You and Me by Emery Lord. I know ya'll probably hate me right now! But seriously, pre-order it. I loved it even more than I loved Open Road Summer, and trust me, I loved the heck out of that book. Right now, I'm in the middle of In the Afterlight (which is good) and Famous in Love (which I'm kind of struggling with). What are ya'll reading?? 

Anyone participating in NaNo, btw?? I hope to start today. I took the first week off for obvious reasons (above), but I'm not giving up. I will win again this year, I swear it. Add me here!
BLOG POSTS YOU MAY HAVE MISSED:
AROUND THE BLOG-O-SPHERE:

post signature

Waiting on Wednesday (37)

Wednesday, November 5, 2014 14


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

The Cage by Megan Shepherd
Releases on: May 26h, 2015 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: When Cora Mason wakes in a desert, she doesn't know where she is or who put her there. As she explores, she finds an impossible mix of environments-- tundra next to desert, farm next to jungle-- and a strangely empty town cobbled together from different cultures and time periods, all watched over by eerie black shadows. And she isn't alone.

Four other teenagers have also been taken: a beautiful model, a tattooed smuggler, a secretive genius, and an army brat who seems to know too much about Cora's past. None of them have a clue as to what happened, and all of them have secrets. As the unlikely group struggles for leadership, they slowly start to trust each other. But when their mysterious jailer appears-- a handsome young guard named Cassian-- they realize their captors aren't from Earth. And they have taken the five teenagers to an otherworldly zoo-- where the exhibits are humans.

When a forbidden attraction develops between Cora and Cassian, she realizes that her best chance of escape might be in the arms of her own jailer-- though that would mean leaving the others behind. Can Cora manage to save herself and her companions? And if so... what world lies beyond the walls of their cage?

Why I'm Waiting:
1. DAT COVER.
2. HUMANS IN A ZOO?!
3. ALIENS?!
4. The names!!! Cassian is such a cool name, and I've always wanted to name one of my characters in a WIP Cora!!!

What do you think of my WoW?
What is your WoW for this week?
Let me know in the comments, and be sure to leave me a link so I can come back and leave you some comment love! 

Thanks for stopping by Pivot Book Reviews!

post signature
Copyright © 2014 Pivot Book Reviews
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs