Stacking the Shelves (17)

Monday, July 21, 2014 10
 Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!

Four: A Divergent Story Collection by Veronica Roth *SIGNED*

Strange and Ever After by Susan Dennard *SIGNED*
Deliverance by C.J. Redwine ARC *SIGNED*
Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garci and Margaret Stohl
Bones of Faerie by Janni Lee Simner
Deviation by Christine Manzari
The Book of Mordred by Vivian Vande Velde

Thank you to Susan, Coranne, and Amanda!!! <3
So what's happening in Becca Land??

Believe it or not, LOTS is happening. I opened an Etsy store for my handpainted tote bags, and business seems to be booming. I've been really busy designing/painting totes, on top of my actual job. Now, this week, I plan on taking a little siesta from the blog, because I'm incredibly behind on ALL THE THINGS. I want to catch up on comments, posts, and pretty much everything, because I've slacked a lot in the past month, and desperately need to get things in check. Plus, I'm busy writing for Camp NaNoWriMo, so I'll also be doing that. Phew. I have a hectic schedule. Just writing this is making me stress. HAHA. It's okay. I may post something during this week, but no promises. Until next week though, lovelies. You can still holler at me on twitter though! You can't keep me away from the twitter. ;)

Blog Posts You May Have Missed:

That's it for me, I think!
What about you guys?
Did you get anything amazeballs this week?
post signature


Thursday, July 17, 2014 22
No Cover Puppies post today, friends! I'm currently in the depths of novel writing (cough, two weeks late into NaNo, cough cough! But at least, I'm still doing it!) Anyways, no Cover Puppies today, BUT never fear, because I have something better to show you.

Better? How can something be better than you puppify-ing book covers, Becca?

Well, let me introduce you to PIVOT BOOK TOTES!

Yes, TOTES totes. 

Recently, I've gotten into painting again. More specifically, painting totes for some of my dearest blogging/bookish buddies.

First, I surprised my best friend, Sarah, with this one..

Little did I know, at the time, that she would surprise me right back with praise from none other than.....


Also here's the bestie with JLA! (AND MY BAG!!!)

Seriously. This was the best thing ever. EVERRRR.

The next bag I did was for Kristen for the Books 'n' Bloggers Swap!

And this week, I surprised my blogging buddy/idol Andye with this one..

So what is one thing that all three of these totes have in common with the other? They were all posted on social media and universally gushed about like crazy. I didn't really think they were that great, but the praise seems to say otherwise. I really want to open an etsy shop, but I'm not sure how all of that works or anything. If you know how to etsy, email me please (beccaf97200 at gmail dot com)! TEACH ME HOW TO ETSY! 

*NEWS* Since posting this I have somewhat discovered "how to Etsy". It's not the prettiest shop on Etsy but it gets the job done.

Check it out here:

Also, to spread the word, I'm going to have a little giveaway of one of my bags. I can surprise you with one I've been dying to do, or whatever you want. It's YOUR choice. 

Interested? Enter the Rafflecopter form below, and (I have to say it, it's required when I have a giveaway that I say this) MAY THE ODDS BE EVER IN YOUR FAVOR!!!!!

**Oh, and here's the rules/mumbo jumbo/stuff you may need to know before entering:**

Must be 13+ (or have parents permission to enter)
I am not responsible for packages lost in the mail.
There will be ONE winner chosen randomly by Rafflecopter. Winner will be emailed and have 48 hours to respond or another winner will be chosen.
I reserve the right to disqualify any entries I see unfit.
Please don't cheat. Cheaters never win. (Because I check ALL entries. You've been warned!!) 
Giveaway starts at midnight and ends AUGUST 22nd! 
HAVE FUN!!!! :)

post signature

Waiting on Wednesday (27)

Wednesday, July 16, 2014 14
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking The Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release that you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

In a Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis
Releases on: September 23rd, 2014 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

FROM GOODREADS: The only thing bigger than the world is fear.

Lucy's life by the pond has always been full. She has water and friends, laughter and the love of her adoptive mother, Lynn, who has made sure that Lucy's childhood was very different from her own. Yet it seems Lucy's future is settled already- a house, a man, children, and a water source- and anything beyond their life by the pond is beyond reach.

When disease burns through their community, the once life-saving water of the pond might be the source of what's killing them now. Rumors of desalinization plants in California have lingered in Lynn's mind, and the prospect of a "normal" life for Lucy sets the two of them on an epic journey west to face new dangers: hunger, mountains, deserts, betrayal, and the perils of a world so vast that Lucy fears she could be lost forever, only to disappear in a handful of dust.

In this companion to Not a Drop to Drink, Mindy McGinnis thrillingly combines the heart-swelling hope of a journey, the challenges of establishing your own place in the world, and the gripping physical danger of nature in a futuristic frontier.


1. I just recently read Not a Drop to like, a little over three hours. OMG NEED MORE NOW.

2. Mindy McGinnis is an amazing writer.


4. I love the characters. 

5. I love everything, and I'm so excited to see what this world looks like in this companion novel set years down the road from when Not a Drop to Drink ended.

What do you think of my WoW?
What is your WoW for this week?
Let me know in the comments, and be sure to leave me a link so I can come back and leave you some comment love! 

Thanks for stopping by Pivot Book Reviews!
post signature

Things My Parents Don't Understand About My Bookish Obsession - Crying Over Books

Tuesday, July 15, 2014 14

Some days, I think my parents think I'm a complete weirdo when it comes to my book obsession. I mean, don't get me wrong, my mom somewhat understands it, because I constantly am shoving new books into her arms for her to read. I actually have a specific bookcase in my room for books I'm wanting her to read next. Seriously. 

But there are some points in my bookish life, that my parents just simply don't understand. Viola! A new feature has been born. I'm not sure how often I will post, right now probably whenever I feel like it, but each post will have a certain subject and what my parents do/say regarding said bookish subject. And because I know my dad reads my posts, (HI DAD! LOOK YOU'RE A FEATURE ON MY BLOG...UH, LOVE YOU! :D)

Today, I'm talking about when my parents catch my crying while reading!

Set the scene:

My dad knows I'm a voracious reader. He knows this. He also knows how crazy I am when it comes to Divergent. I was counting down the days until Allegiant released. Literally, I would tell him how many weeks were left until it came out. In fact, I even debated whether or not to pre-order from amazon or wait til the day of to buy it in store with him, and he also helped me call ALL THE BOOKSTORES to find out if any were having a midnight release partty. None were. Shame on you Oklahoma bookstores!

Anywho, the day came. Allegiant was in my hands. So, of course, I subjected my dad to taking pictures of me with said book, like this one...

WEEE! I'm unknowingly jumping in excitement for the book that is going to shatter my soul. Yippeee.

After that picture fest, I locked myself in my room for the day, told my parents NOT to disturb me, because I was finishing this baby today. 

CAUTION: Spoilers for Allegiant coming. LOOK AWAY. I warned you!!!

*closes book*

*tears are streaming down my face*

I'm seriously bawling like a freaking baby after closing the last page. WTF.

Thoughts are running crazy through my head, and I desperately NEED to discuss this damn book with someone (this was before I started blogging), but none of my friends had finished it yet, and I couldn't talk to my mom about it, because she was going to read it after me. My only salvation was my dad.

*walks downstairs, stealthily trying to hide sobbing from mother*

I take my dad outside, and tell him that I know he hasn't read this book, but I need someone to talk/rant/cry to about it, and I can't with mom, because she hasn't read it yet. He nods and gestures at me to continue, while he plays Frisbee with Dixie. 

And, I just break loose. His eyes were popping out of his head at my outburst. Like I said, I was bawling and so upset over a book. My dad doesn't quite understand this aspect, but God bless him, he let me talk/rant/cry to him until I was all cried out. Of course, he didn't really say anything until I shut up. He thought the ending of Allegiant was bullshit as well. 

He may not understand why I sometimes bawl at books, and he may not understand what exactly is going on when I try to explain the book and why it made me cry, but he's the best because regardless of those facts, he still sits there and listens like he cares. 


So, thank you, Daddy. You rock. Hopefully, this doesn't happen too often, but when/if it does, I know you're there for me, just like you always are. Love you.

(Of course, looking back, I agree with the Allegiant ending. I've come to terms with it, and I agree it was the right ending even if I'm not happy with it. Now I'm kicking myself, because I spoiled the movies for my Dad. Because movies are my Dad and I's thing. Oh well. He's old. Maybe he'll forget!) 


Have you had an experience like this?
What do you think of this new feature?
Let's discuss!
post signature

REVIEW - Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis

Monday, July 14, 2014 11
Not a Drop to Drink by Mindy McGinnis
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books on Sept 24th, 2013
Series: Not a Drop to Drink #1
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Post-Apocalypitic
Source: Gifted
Rating: 5/5

FROM GOODREADS: Regret was for people with nothing to defend, people who had no water. 

Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn't leave at all.

Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand.

But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it….

With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.


Dear Not a Drop to Drink,

Whoa. Hold up a minute. You were sitting on my shelf for how long? Since Christmas? WHY?! I am shaking my head at myself for how long I made you sit there unread and unloved, but fear not, I spent an entire day swallowed up in the trenches of your fabulous plot, and I don't regret a single second of it. You were a refreshing drink of water in a world drowning in dystopian. (Horrible pun, btw) You were exactly the type of book that made me fall in love with dystopian/post-apocalyptic stories in the first place, and have made me fall in love with it all over again.

Your storyline follows Lynn, who lives in a world where water is scarce, and therefore has to spend her life protecting her and her mother's lifeline, their pond, from all types of predators- human and animal. But after Lynn's mother dies, it's all up to Lynn to survive on her own and keep the predators at bay, with just a little help from some new friends.

Your world was terrifying. No water. I couldn't even imagine. I drink mostly water as it is, but after finishing you, I'm savoring every single drop that touches my tongue. The picture painted with your words was all too frightening and realistic. Something like this could very well happen in my lifetime, and it's scary to consider. On top of all that, you tout crazy gun-weilding humans, coyote-dog hybrids, and disease. *shudders*

Your characters also rock, Not a Drop to Drink. I loved Lynn so much. I instantly connected to her character, and the way she was feeling. I simply could not put you down because I cared about Lynn that much. Whenever I was making dinner, I was snatching you up while boiling stuff on the stove, just so I could catch a few more sentences. I couldn't take not knowing what was happening in Lynn's world while I was cooking in my own. I also seemed to pick up her preferred curse words, and have been saying, "Asshole" and "Son of a Bitch" a lot more as of lately. Her character arc from not trusting anyone at the beginning to finally relying on other people was beautifully written, and I loved falling in love and learning to trust the newcomers along with Lynn. Stebbs was a hoot. I felt a particular fondness for him for some reason. Maybe because of the stubborn-ness between him and Lynn. My dad and I are a lot like that. We butt heads quite a bit, but I love him to death. I also fell for Lucy more and more as I flipped through your pages. I would've reacted much like Lynn did to the child at the beginning, and ultimately evolved to caring for her the same way.

If I were to change absolutely anything about you, though, I think I would've added a smidge more romance to you. Granted, I love the slow burn, and I totes shipped what was going on between Lynn and Eli, but I just needed a bit more to feel that connection to the absolute fullest, ya know? 

Other than that, you were truly magnificent. Now, I finally know what everyone was talking about when they referred to you. You deserve all the hype and more. I will be recommending you to anyone and everyone and pushing you into their hands. In fact, I already shoved you into my mother's hands (she devoured you in a day as well and LOVED you just as much as I) AND bought a copy for my best friend! I am shouting to the blogosphere not to give up on Post-Apocalyptic stories just yet, because if they do, they will be missing out on one of the absolute best ones I've ever read. Yes, I'm referring to you. Stop blushing! I wish I could give you all the hearts, but alas, my rating system is only 1-5... Do you have any clue what I'm giving you? No? FIVE HEARTS to you, Not a Drop to Drink. Your author, Mindy McGinnis, wowed me with the wonderful debut that you are and I'm anxiously awaiting your step-sibling/cousin (?), In a Handful of Dust, to release. Counting down the seconds, actually.

Loving you (and water) always and forever, 


Have you read Not a Drop to Drink?
What did you think?
Did you love it, meh-it, or hate it?
Either way, I'd love to hear your thoughts!
Let's discuss!
post signature

Stacking the Shelves (16)

Saturday, July 12, 2014 12
 Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!

For Review:
Welcom to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz
Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick


So what's happening in Becca Land??
Work, work, work, work, and It's never-ending. Someone also needs to kick my booty for not writing. I need a big booty kicking, because I am a slacker this month. *sad face* Although, I have read some really really really amazing books this week. I'm on a reading rolllllll! 

Blog Posts You May Have Missed:

That's it for me, I think!
What about you guys?
Did you get anything amazeballs this week?
post signature


Friday, July 11, 2014 6
What is Epic Recs, you ask? Well, it's this amaze balls book pushing club started by Judith from Paper Riot and Amber from Books of Amber! Basically we all know how much of a book pusher I am, so when I found out there was a book club where you pair up with a friend or get paired up with someone by Judith & Amber and then "push" a book on them, I knew I was game!

My super sweet bestie, Sarah, and I are teaming up again for Epic Recs this July. Last month, Sarah had to read Crash by Lisa McMann & I had to read Heist Society by Ally Carter (check out my review soon!) This month, we have pushed these books onto one another!


My pick for Sarah this month is To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han, and Sarah's pick for me is Wait for You by Jennifer L. Armentrout

If you haven't read To All the Boys I've Loved Before, I HIGHLY recommend it! I'm practically dead from how much time I've spent waiting for book two to release! 

I'm really looking forward to reading Wait for You. I've had this baby sitting on my shelf since last December. I'm not usually a fan of NA, but it is Jennifer Armentrout (and I love her books!) so hopefully I'll love this one too!

Be sure to check out EPIC RECS and join up!! I'm already loving it, and know I'll be participating in the future! Also, be on the look out for my review of Wait for You later this month/early August! 
post signature

REVIEW- Hexed by Michelle Krys

Hexed by Michelle Krys
Published by: Delacorte Press on June 10th, 2014
Series: The Witch Hunter #1
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Paranormal
Source: Purchased
Rating: 4/5

FROM GOODREADS: If high school is all about social status, Indigo Blackwood has it made. Sure, her quirky mom owns an occult shop, and a nerd just won't stop trying to be her friend, but Indie is a popular cheerleader with a football-star boyfriend and a social circle powerful enough to ruin everyone at school. Who wouldn't want to be her?

Then a guy dies right before her eyes. And the dusy old family Bible her mom is freakishly possessive of is stolen. But it's when a frustratingly sexy stranger named Bishop enters Indie's world that she learns her destiny involves a lot more than pom-poms and parties. If she doesn't get the Bible back, every witch on the planet will die. And that's seriously bad news for Indie, because according to Bishop, she's a witch too.

Suddenly forced into a centuries-old war between witches and sorcerers, Indie's about to uncover the many dark truths about her life- and a future unlike any she ever imagined on top of the cheer pyramid.


Dear Hexed, 

You follow Miss Indie Blackwood, who kind of reminds me of a Buffy type girl, except minus the Vampires and plus good/bad witches, and also, happens to be a witch herself. I found your voice to be rather page-turning and sarcasticly spunky, which I loved. I actually buddy read you with Pili, and we decided to read just five chapters of you a day for a week, and boy that was a mistake. I hardly wanted to stop reading you after finishing my five chapters. I just wanted to sit there and finish you the day I started you. 

I'll admit, at some points, Indie could be a little annoying, but she was the popular girl for the first half of you. She was with the cruel crowd, and tended to think along their lines. I'm glad she snapped out of that quick. Particularly with Paige, because I absolutely adored Paige! She was my FAVORITE character, without a doubt. I mean, she's a booklover so of course, I loved her so much. Another thing that irked me was the fact that Indie claimed to be a non-cryer, but seemed to cry at the drop of a hat. I don't quite understand why she kept saying she wasn't much of a cryer, and then, did just that....several times. It just became annoying after awhile. But really, I think that was the only problem I had with you. At points, there were times when Indie had a tough choice to make, and if she would've made the meaner decision (i.e. continuing to be the Queen Biatch), I was ready to put you down without finishing, but Indie surprised me with her newfound conscience and I was able to finish you without disgust at some of her choices. 

Bishop, the warlock, was a surprise. At first, I wasn't too sure of the boy. Especially because he wasn't the typical guy for me to swoon over. If I remember correctly, Indie mentioned he looked like a hobo/serial killer. Which doesn't equal swoonage from Becca. BUT he grew on me. It was a slow burn, but oh when it hit? It blazed. I like me some Bishop now. 

And also, that ending? Wow, your author, Michelle Krys, surely threw me through the ringer. Did not see that coming at all. Plus a major cliffhanger. Wahhhh. I need your sequel, Hexed. I need it now. I can't wait. Overall, I thought you were a hell of a story, even though your main character annoyed me at some points, your secondary characters and surprise turn of events kept me on the edge of my seat. You were a refreshing witchy story, and for that, I thank you, and award you FOUR HEARTS.



Have you read HEXED?
What did you think?
Let's discuss!

post signature

Cover Puppies (24) - Sing Sweet Nightingale by Erica Cameron

Thursday, July 10, 2014 6
Cover Puppies is a weekly post here on Pivot Book Reviews, where I combine my extreme love for my doggies and YA books, and puppify my favorite book covers!

This week, I'm featuring..

Sing Sweet Nightingale by Erica Cameron!

FROM GOODREADS: Mariella Teagen hasn't spoken a word in four years.

She pledged her voice to Orane, the man she loves- someone she only sees in her dreams. Each night, she escapes to Paradise, the world Orane created for her, and she sings for him. Mariella never believed she could stay in Paradise longer than a night, but two weeks before her eighteenth birthday, Orane hints that she may be able to stay forever.

Hudson Vincent made a pledge to never fight again.

Calease, the creature who created his dream world, swore that giving up violence would protect Hudson. But when his vow caused the death of his little brother, Hudson turned his grief on Calease and destroyed the dream world. The battle left him with new abilities and disturbing visions of a silent girl in grave danger- Mariella.

Now, Hudson is fighting to save Mariella's life while she fights to give it away. And he must find a way to show her Orane's true intentions before she is lost to Paradise forever.


Many thanks to Spencer Hill Press and Meredith for reaching out to Gentry and I to spotlight Sing Sweet Nightingale for Cover Puppies this week! I'm really looking forward to reading it! Gentry may have been a little stubborn about cooperating this week (what's new?? Haha), but we ultimately got it done. I think it turned out rather dream like! :)

Thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews, and be sure to hit that follow button so you get the newest Cover Puppies posts the second I hit publish!!
post signature
Copyright © 2014 Pivot Book Reviews
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs