Stacking the Shelves (32)

Saturday, January 31, 2015 10


Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!

ARC REVIEW: I'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

Friday, January 30, 2015 2


I'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
Published by: Henry Holt on February 3rd, 2015
Series: No
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback ARC
Genre: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction
Source: For Review
Rating: 4/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: If seventeen-year-old Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing standing between straightedge Skylar and art school are three minimum-wage months of summer. Skylar can taste the freedom-- that is, until her mother loses her job and everything starts coming apart. Torn between her dreams and the people she loves, Skylar realizes everything she's ever worked for is on the line.

Nineteen-year-old Josh Mitchell had a different ticket out of Creek View: the Marines. But after his leg is blown off in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be. What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise-- a quirky motel off California's dusty Highway 99. Despite their differences, their shared isolation turns into an unexpected friendship and soon, something deeper.

The Winner's Curse/Crime Read-a-long

Thursday, January 29, 2015 7


Hey guys!!! Today I have something really exciting for you!

Pivot Book Reviews has teamed up with a couple of our blogging buddies to bring you all a read-along of The Winner's Curse and The Winner's Crime!

Waiting on Wednesday (45)

Wednesday, January 28, 2015 10


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

Rogue (Talon #2) by Julie Kagawa
Releases on: April 28th, 2015 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: Ember Hill left the dragon organization Talon to take her chances with rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues. But Ember can't forget the sacrifice made for her by the human boy who could have killed her-- Garret Xavier Sebastian, a soldier of the dragonslaying Order of St. George, the boy who saved her from a Talon assassin, knowing that by doing so, he'd signed his own death warrant. 

Determined to save Garret from execution, Ember must convince Cobalt to help her break into the Order's headquarters. With assassins after them and Ember's own brother helping Talon with the hunt, the rogues find an unexpected ally in Garret and a new persepective on the underground battle between Talon and St. George.

A reckoning is brewing and the secrets hidden by both sides are shocking and deadly. Soon Ember must decide: Should she retreat to fight another day...or start an all-out war?

Why I'm waiting:

1. DAT COVER. (Also I really hope this one is embossed and metallic-y like Talon was!!!)
2. I LOVED Talon. Not as much as I was expecting too, but I still really enjoyed it.
3. I NEED MOAR GARRET XAVIER IN MY LIFE NOW PLZ.
4. AND MOAR DRAGONS.

Are you looking forward to Rogue?
What did you think of Talon?
What is your WoW this week?
Let's discuss!
post signature

Ten Reasons to Date a Boy Who Reads

Tuesday, January 27, 2015 7

So I haven't done a post like this in awhile, but I absolutely love making lists. I actually got the idea of this just recently, because of happenings in my life (i.e. Book Boy), but if you don't follow my twitter, you're probably not caught up on all the things. Anyways, I went on a 'date' with a boy who likes to read, which was first for me, and it was epic. I thought it would be fun to list all the reasons to date a boy who reads.

REVIEW: Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

Monday, January 26, 2015 6


Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas
Published by: Simon Pulse on May 6th, 2013
Series: No
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Source: Purchased
Rating: 5/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: Paradise in Aruba quickly gets gruesome in this ripped-from-the-headlines thriller (Kirkus Reviews) with a twist that defies the imagination.

It's Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives.

But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations. As Anna sets out to find her friend's killer, she discovers harsh revelations about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

Awaiting the judge's decree, it becomes clear to Anna that everyone around her thinks she is not only guilty, but also dangerous. And when the whole story comes out, reality is more shocking that anyone could ever imagine...

Stacking the Shelves (31)

Sunday, January 25, 2015 9



Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!

This is from the past two weeks, btw!

Waiting on Wednesday (44)

Wednesday, January 21, 2015 8

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

Soulprint by Megan Miranda
Releases on: February 3, 2014 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

Tote(ally) Tuesday (9)

Tuesday, January 20, 2015 4


Tote(ally) Tuesday is a semi-regular post on Pivot Book Reviews, where I showcase the most recent totes I've painted for custom orders on my Etsy!

Just a few totes to show you this week. Remember, all totes are available regardless if they are listed in my Etsy shop. You can request a custom order and just tell me that you want an Heir of Fire tote for example, and I'll set up a listing for you. OR if you have something in mind that I have yet to do, I'm up for painting commissions too. That's usually how I end up painting the majority of my totes anyways! :)

2 Liars, Inc. Custom Totes
(The front on both is the same, but the quotes are different!)

REVIEW: Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole

Monday, January 19, 2015 3


Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole
Published by: Simon & Schuster on January 6th, 2015
Series: The Arcana Chronicles #3
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback
Genre: Fantasy
Source: Purchased
Rating: 3.5/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: Can Evie convince her rival loves to work together? Their survival depends on it in this third book of #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole's Arcana Chronicles, a nonstop action tale of rescue, redemption, and a revenge most wicked.

Heartbreaking decisions
Evie was almost seduced by the life of comfort that Death offered her-- until Jack was threatened by two of the most horrific Arcana, The Lovers. She will do anything to save him, even escape Death's uncanny prison, full of beautiful objects, material comforts...and stolen glances from a former love.

Waiting on Wednesday (43)

Wednesday, January 14, 2015 9
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

Ink and Bone: The Great Library (The Great Library #1) by Rachel Caine
Releases on: July 7th, 2015 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

DISCUSSION: I'm Challenging Myself This Year

Monday, January 12, 2015 9


I have never done a Reading Challenge.

Phew. It feels good to finally get that off my chest.

Okay, so I suppose that is kind of a lie, because I did the Goodreads Challenge last year, and challenged myself to read 150 books, and that didn't turn out so well. I think I made it to 118, but I blame that on my horrible surgery and recovery in December. I reset my Goodreads Challenge to 150 again this year, and I'm desperately hoping that I make it, because I felt awful not making it last year! 

What I meant when I said I'd never done a Reading Challenge is that I've never done one that wanted me to read specific things, so this year, I'm wanting to rectify that with this super fun one I found on PopSugar. Mostly because I want to expand on what I read, and discover new things!

Stacking the Shelves (30)

Sunday, January 11, 2015 12


Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!


Bookish Crafts - How to make a Book Clock!

Thursday, January 8, 2015 13
If you're anything like me, you like crafts. But to me, there's something that's even better than just crafts....it's BOOKISH CRAFTS. I spend quite a bit of what limited free time I have making bookish crafts, whether it's some of my tote bags or even my swag frames or book hook marks, but today I have something new I want to show you how to make.....

A BOOK CLOCK!
(Yes, it actually works!)


Waiting on Wednesday (42)

Wednesday, January 7, 2015 17
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2) by Mary E. Pearson
Releases on: July 7th, 2015 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: Intrigue abounds in this hotly anticipated sequel to The Kiss of Deception!

ARC Review: The Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark

Tuesday, January 6, 2015 4


The Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark
Published by: Swoon Reads on January 6th, 2015
Series: No
Pages: 368
Format: ARC Paperback
Genre: Contemporary
Source: For Review
Rating: 5/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TOO GOODREADS!

From Goodreads: Maddy Spier has been in love with the boy next door forever. As his figure skating partner she spends time in his arms every day. But she's also see his arms around other girls -- lots of other girls.

Gabe can't imagine skating with anyone but Maddy, and together they have a real chance at winning some series gold medals. So, he's determined to keep thinking of her like a sister. After all, he's never had a romantic relationship that lasted for more than two weeks. 

But when their coach assigns a new romantic skating program, everything changes. Will this be the big break that Maddy's been hoping for or the big breakup that Gabe has always feared?

My Very First Blogoversary & An EPIC Giveaway

Friday, January 2, 2015 25


Wow. I mean, WOW! Where in the world did 2014 go?

As I sit here in the early hours of my very first blogoversary, I'm thinking about where I was a year ago. I was sitting in this very chair, working like crazy and learning all I could about 'how to blog'. I worked so hard at this. At the time, it was a spur of the moment decision, or maybe a last minute new year's resolution. Actually, maybe a little bit of each. You see, I'd followed book blogs for years, but I never thought it was something I could do myself. Plus, I didn't really have the time back in the day, but last year, on January 2nd, I posted my very first blog post, which features I horrible Youtube video of me introducing myself and my dog barking like crazy in the background. Little did I know at the time, how much this blog would end up growing, how many amazing friends I would end up meeting, and how many incredibly awesome events, books, and authors I would be introduced to, or that I would start co-blogging on two other blogs besides my own, start my own business, and receive some ARCs. I never expected this, not by a long shot, but surprisingly, here I sit. I'm so very thankful for that. You have no idea how much you and this blog mean to me. It is my entire life. Well, besides reading, working, and making totes!

End of the Year Book Survey - 2014 Edition! (& Giveaway!)

Thursday, January 1, 2015 8

Well,  friends. 2014 has officially come to an end, so to celebrate the end of one chapter and the beginning of a new one in 2015, I'm participating by filling out Jamie from The Perpetual Page Turner's annual end of the year book survey! YAY! Thank you Jamie for coming up with & hosting this super awesome survey! It was so much fun (and very hard) to fill out! :)

Number Of Books You Read: 118
Number of Re-Reads: 3
Genre You Read The Most From: Surprisingly Contemporary!


Copyright © 2014 Pivot Book Reviews
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs