Stacking the Shelves (25)

Saturday, October 25, 2014 9
Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!


Won:
Dark Days by Kate Ormand
The Cure for Dreaming by Cat Winters

Borrowed:
The Winner's Crime (The Winner's Curse #2) by Marie Rutkoski

For Review:
Shutter by Courtney Alameda
Save Me by Jenny Elliott

BIG HUGS AND SQUISHES TO MACMILLAN, KATE, AND MARY!!!!!!! LOVE YOU GUYS! 
WHAT'S HAPPENING IN BECCA LAND?

Okay guys. This week has been crazy with all the stalker drama, and I've exhausted myself between that and working. Through the next week is something my dad and I like to call Hell Week, because it is HELL. Halloween is our busiest time of the year, and with me working 12-16 days for the next week, I'm not going to have time to blog AT ALL. So I decided, I'm just going to take the week off from blogging to focus on work and just get through it as quickly as possible, without having to stress about comments/new posts/reviews. I will miss you all dearly, but I'll still be twitter active so be sure to holla at me! You can also catch me on Reading Teen and Adventures in YA Publishing though!! As far as this past week, nothing too exciting happened, except for the day I opened my mailbox and discover THE FREAKING WINNER'S CRIME IN THERE! OMGOMGOMG! We also watched the partial Solar Eclipse on Thursday, which was pretty neat-o! Then, rounded out the night by watching The Purge: Anarchy, which I liked just as much as the first! Have any of ya'll seen it yet? What did you think?

So what are you guys reading? I'm busy going back and forth between The Winner's Crime, and Racing Savannah by Miranda Kenneally! Have you read either of them before?

BLOG POSTS YOU MAY HAVE MISSED:
That's it for me!
Did you get anything amaze-balls this week?
Link me up so I can come see!:)
post signature

ARC REVIEW: Talon by Julie Kagawa

Friday, October 24, 2014 5
Talon by Julie Kagawa
Published by: Harlequin Teen on October 28th, 2014
Series: Talon #1
Pages: 400
Format: ARC Paperback
Genre: Fantasy
Source: For Review
Rating: 5/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

FROM GOODREADS: Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they're positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon. But destiny is a matter of perspective, and a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught. As Ember struggles to accept her future, she and her brother are hunted by the Order of St. George.

Soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian has a mission to seek and destroy all dragons, and Talon's newest recruits in particular. But he cannot kill unless he is certain he has found his prey: and nothing is certain about Ember Hill. Faced with Ember's bravery, confidence and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything that the Order has ingrained in him: and what he might be willing to give up to find the truth about dragons.

MY THOUGHTS:

Dearest Talon, 

At first, I wasn't sure if you were going to be my type of read. I couldn't get past the fact that dragons were hiding in a human's body. *face palm* I guess I didn't put two and two together enough to realize they were like dragon shape shifters. But HOLY SHITACKI MUSHROOMS! Move over, Khalessi. There's a new Mother of Dragons in town!!!!

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother dragons ever known to exist, but before they are placed in their jobs in Talon, they have one summer left to experience freedom. Ember wants to experience that freedom by living as a human girl, but Dante isn't too interested in that. Then, we get the perspective from Garret, who is basically a dragon hunter, that is tasked with finding Talon's newest recruits, but can't decide if Ember is one or not.

I was not expecting this to read like Paranormal romance. I was thinking something more fantasy driven, rather than contemporary. I thought you read more like a contemporary with dragons than anything else. But that's not a bad thing, Talon. Surprisingly, I loved it! Ember was just a girl who could turn into a dragon whenever she wanted. No big, but it's frustrating to her, because she's never had to hold back on her powers before. Of course, her brother, Dante, thinks Ember is a bit rebellious and she is, but Dante can also be a total buzz kill. There's a bit of a love triangle in you, unfortunately, Talon. I hated that. I didn't really get any swoony vibes from Riley the even more rebellious/rogue dragon shifter, but Garret? The soldier? Oh dear sweet baby Jesus. My heart is all about that Garret, and all about Garret and Ember because they are one of my OTP's! 

One of the main reasons I was so interested in you to begin with, Talon, was your use of Dragons. I know your author, Julie Kagawa, is capable of amazing world-building, but unfortunately, we didn't get to see much of that in you. I'm hoping that won't be the case in book 2 though, which I'm willing to give away my firstborn to get a copy of ASAP! 

Your plot was very fast paced, and action packed. Regardless of if people are looking for more of a fantasy driven novel, I still think they should give you a chance. Two main reasons pop into my mind: DRAGONS! and GARRET! But seriously, I was on the edge of my seat throughout your entirety.

All in all, even though you weren't entirely what I was expecting, I loved the crap outta you! You were fabulous, and lived up to all my expectations! Your author, Julie Kagawa, is always a master story weaver, and I look forward to seeing what she spins for Ember, Dante, Riley, and Garret for book two!!! FIVE STARS! You, Talon, are a book NOT to be overlooked!!

Wishing I could turn into a dragon,

Becca


Let's discuss!
Have you already read Talon?
What did you think?
OR
Are you DYING to read Talon? 

Bookish Crafts: Bookish Pumpkins!

Thursday, October 23, 2014 3

If you're anything like me, you like crafts. But to me, there's something that's even better than just crafts....it's BOOKISH CRAFTS. I spend quite a bit of what limited free time I have making bookish crafts, whether it's some of my tote bags or even my swag frames or book hook marks, but today I have something new I want to show you. 

HOW TO PAINT A BOOKISH PUMPKIN!


WHAT YOU WILL NEED:
  • White Spray Paint
  • A pumpkin!
  • A sharpie
  • Acrylic paint (all the colors needed) for your design
  • A bookish cover/desgin
  • Various paint brushes
  • Newspaper
DIRECTIONS:
  • First you need to choose a pumpkin! I chose a smaller one, because this takes awhile and doing a bigger one was not viable. I didn't have enough time to spend on one, but it will work just the same if you choose a bigger one! I got this one from Wal-Mart for $1.37!
  • Then you need to go outside, place your pumpkin on some scrap paper and spray paint it white for a base color. If you don't do this, it'll be much harder for your acrylic paint to stick to the pumpkin's surface. Take my advice, or you will have to paint several coats!
  • While your base coat is drying, take the time to choose a bookish design. I went with a book cover (Talon by Julie Kagawa), because they are my specialty, but you can choose anything you want! 
  • Once your design is chosen and your base coat is dry, take a sharpie and make a rough sketch of your design, it might look crappy, but remember, this will be covered with paint, so it doesn't matter! Something you might try if you aren't a skilled free-drawer, is to trace your design or print it out from your computer, and cut it out. Tape the cut page to the pumpkin, and outline it on there. You should have a pretty close outline then! Pretty much the same thing you would do if you were carving it!
  • After you have your design drawn, it's time to get to the fun stuff! For my cover, I needed a red base, so on top of the already white spray painted base, I used a sponge paint brush to dab on red paint. DAB IT! Don't try to paint like you would normally, or again, you will be painting several coats. If you dab it, it should stick with one! 
  • Let that base dry. Once it's dry, start painting your other colors. These you can paint like you normally would, but I would use a smaller fine paintbrush. This is the part that's time-consuming, because I have yet to find a way to make it stick with one go. I had to go over the gold on mine at least twice, and that was using an abundance of paint with each stroke. 
  • Let that dry. After it dries, you may choose to outline it, like I did (which you can see below). This takes a steady hand! But any mistakes you make, remember, can be painted over! 
  • Once you're finished painting...VOILA! You have a bookish painted pumpkin! It takes a few tries to get good at this. I've been doing this for years, and I think this is the best one I've ever done, so don't get discouraged! Just keep practicing. Remember practice makes perfect! At this point, you may choose to seal your design. I use a spray can of clear Mod Podge. Just use the directions on the can, and once finished & dry your pumpkin is ready for display! 

 My finished painted BOOKISH PUMPKIN for Talon! 

And there you have it my friends! Hopefully that was easy to understand! If you have any questions, feel free to holla at me below or on twitter! What bookish craft should I make next? 
post signature

Waiting on Wednesday (36)

Wednesday, October 22, 2014 7

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas
Releases on: February 24th, 2015  ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

FROM GOODREADS: Rhiannon Thomas's dazzling debut novel is a spellbinding reimagining of Sleeping Beauty and what happens after happily ever after.

One hundred years after falling asleep, Princess Aurora wakes up to the kiss of a handsome prince and a broken kingdom that has been dreaming of her return. All the books say that she should be living happily ever after. But as Aurora understands all too well, the truth is nothing like the fairy tale. 

Her family is long dead. Her "true love" is a kind stranger. And her whole life has been planned out by political foes while she slept.

As Aurora struggles to make sense of her new world, she begins to fear that the curse has left its mark on her, a fiery and dangerous thing that might be as wicked as the witch who once ensnared her. With her wedding day drawing near, Aurora must make the ultimate decision on how to save her kingdom: marry the prince or run.

Rhiannon Thomas weaves together vivid scenes of action, romance, and gorgeous gowns to reveal a richly imagined world... and Sleeping Beauty as she's never been seen before.

Why I'm Waiting:
1. Dat cover.
2. Um hello? This is a SLEEPING BEAUTY RETELLING. YES YES YES YES YAAAAS
3. The part I love about this is the line..."what happens after happily ever after?"

What do you think of my WoW?
What is your WoW for this week?
Let me know in the comments, and be sure to leave me a link so I can come back and leave you some comment love! 

Thanks for stopping by Pivot Book Reviews!


post signature

A Special The Burning Sky Post & GIVEAWAY from Me & Andye!

14
From Becca & Andye 



Dear Readers,

Every once in awhile there is a story that touches our hearts more than others. There is a story that is so beautiful and exciting and moving and creative that we just can't let it go with a simple review or two.

This is one of those stories.

We couldn't just move on. We had to know more! So we did some digging. Sleuthing.

I can't tell you how we came by this letter from Titus to his Beloved. Oooh, wonder who that is! Maybe we snuck into Titus' bedroom at school. You'll never prove it. So just stop worrying about how it happened, and just say thank you.

You're welcome!

Read. And fall in love.

Beloved,

You came back.
You came back.
I know I told you that I am glad. And I know you sensed my immense relief. But you cannot possibly know just how jubilant I am. Even now, hours afterwards, I walk on clouds.
Such a marvelous feeling, to not be alone. And such a pure, humbling joy, to learn that you moved mountains to come back to school, so we could be together again. (Figurative mountains, that is, since you could probably move literal mountains too.)
And yet…
Do you know that every day of this past summer, even as I fretted over how you would possibly make your way back, part of me—a small, yet insistent part—prayed that you would not. This part of me wanted you to find the safe house in the Labyrinthine Mountains and stay there, sheltered from the searching eyes of Atlantis.
You could have remained hidden your whole life, surrounded by peace and beauty, untroubled by the strife of the outside world.
But you came back.
I wish you to live forever; yet by keeping you close to me, I all but guarantee the opposite.  And so it was that in my thrill, there was a small, yet unmistakable strain of sorrow.
Until you said to me, I am not meant to be kept safe. I am meant for fearsome risks and epic clashes.
I am grateful for everything about you—your wit, your smile, your kindness, the swagger in your gait as you walk across a cricket pitch. But above all, I am grateful for your valor, for that generosity of your bravery which would overcome not only your own fear, but mine too.
I live for you—and you alone.

Titus

*Sigh*

Do you understand why we are in love with Titus??

To celebrate our love, and the recovery of this most precious love letter, we have a very special giveaway for you.

You may have seen Becca's amazing totes (If you haven't, you are missing out, for sure!) She has an ETSY shop where you can order pre-made totes, or get one custom made!

It absolutely pains me to offer this tote up and not just keep it for myself, but here goes . . .

Becca is giving away this amazing tote to ONE OF YOU *sobs*


And, because we want to MAKE SURE that you have read The Burning Sky and The Perilous Sea, we will also be giving away a copy of either book 1 or book 2, depending on your preference! Say a huge THANK YOU to Booki at Harper Teen for providing that!

And thank you, Sherry, for playing along, and for this amazing series that you've given us!


FIERCE READS TOUR RECAP!

Tuesday, October 21, 2014 3

Wow. This is crazy that I went on this road trip nearly two weeks ago. It feels like it was just yesterday. Anyways on October 8th, my moms and I drove the 3 1/2 hours down to Irving, Texas, so we could catch the second leg of the fall Fierce Reads tour, because sadly they weren't coming to Oklahoma this year. We got up early early because we wanted to go by my grandpa's old house and see if the new owners were taking care of it. I'm thankful to say that they are. It was hard to go by that house, and see all the changes that have happened since he passed, and not see him out there with his poodle. It took all I had not to cry, so we just sat there and looked at it in silence while I held his dog tags in my hand. Then, we made the trip to his grave. It's been way too long since we've been able to do that. My only wish is that my dad could've made it with us. 

So after those somber moments, the moms and I navigated the stressful interstates and oh my god, why is there so much dang construction there?! I swear, it was nuts and the people driving around me were driving nuts and to say I wasn't stressed would be a huge understatement. It wasn't bad when I was out of the construction but geez louise my muscles were tensed the whole time! After about 30 minutes, we landed in front of a two story Barnes and Noble. Now to us here folk in Oklahoma (haha I don't really talk like that) we don't have fancy schmancy bookstores with upper levels and them there mechanical stairs so we were pretty darn enamored! Seriously though. This was the most glorious B&N I had ever been to, and we probably stayed inside it way too long. Evidence? All the books we walked out with!!

Finally we stopped by Red Robin to relax a little bit and eat something before heading to the library. I was told that Irving's events were usually pretty cray cray and packed and to get there super early, well we did. Two hours early. LOL. But that ended up being awesome, because I got to meet Mary!!! She's a fellow book blogger that I've followed and talked to since forever, and our conversations were basically the best thing ever! I cannot wait to go down and talk books again, because she's now one of my good friends!! Mary actually saved my mom and I front row seats to the event too, which was super awesome, because Nikki Kelly, who is one of my best author friends, was extremely nervous. It was her first event, but I was there to calm her front and center.

Mary, Becca, & Moms Selfie
The event itself was fabulous! It was honestly the most organized and fun book signings I've ever been to. Definitely different than the ones we usually have here. The moderator was hilarious, as were all the authors. I don't think I've ever giggled so much in my life! Mary and I also had a twitter conversation going during the signing while we were sitting right next to each other! Still giggling over that!

I forgot to mention while we were waiting around for 7 to roll around, Nikki Kelly came in with Jessica Brody, and as soon as she saw us, she came up running yelling "Becky!" "Mary!" and immediately after hugging us, asked where my mom was and then ran over to her and enveloped her in a hug too. She is so stinking cute and adorable and tiny, and her accent is so proper sounding! I wish I could've caught her saying 'twerk' because she made it sound so proper with her accent! For those of you that don't know, Nikki is English! 

No one could believe that we drove all the way from OKC to Irving just for the day so we could come to the signing. I think we were the only ones that traveled such a long distance, but it was so worth it. Not only did I get to meet Mary, and Nikki, and Marissa Meyer, Gennifer Albin, and Jessica Brody, but I got to meet a Macmillan publicist, Alyson, who was really welcoming and informative, and gosh I was freaking out talking to her, because I represent my blog now, and it was just a really momentous conversation. I was shaking when I handed her my card, and introduced myself, but there was no reason to! She was just like all us book lovers, and wanting to know which book I was dying to read the most. (Hint: The Winner's Crime)

Before too long, my books were signed, many hugs were hugged, swag was snagged, and it was time to say my goodbyes. I didn't want to though! I wanted to stay and chill with everyone, but I had a long drive ahead of me to return home, and I didn't want to get back too late because I knew my mom had to work the following morning. Oopsies mom. Sorry we got back at 2:30. I know she was dragging the next day, and even I was too. I guess this is a sign that I'm starting to get old! HAHA. But I can honestly say that this trip with my mom is one that I will cherish for the rest of my life. I cannot wait to go on another one with her. It was the best, and I'm so so so happy that I invited her and she was able to get the day off to come with me. It would've been a lot less fun without her. She's the absolute bomb dot com and means the world to me. (I'm pretty sure she fangirled over meeting Nikki too. She couldn't believe Nikki came up to her knowing who she was and hugging her and it was just so stinking adorable!!) 

Anywho, here's some more pictures from the evening. Mary took one of Marissa Meyer and I and as soon as I can snag it from her, I'll update this!

Gennifer Albin, Me, Jessica Brody

Me showing off my tote and business card!

HUGGING MY AUTHOR BESTIE NIKKI!

Obviously we hugged a TON, not even kidding

Mom and I just chillin with our Fierce Reads Snuggie
 And if you didn't think fun was had by us all, well here's evidence that it was one hell of a time! I can't wait to go back soon!!!! Thanks Irving Public Library for putting on such a fabulous event!
Mary, Me, Moms



Did you go to any of the tour stops on the Fierce Reads tour?
Tell me about em! :)

post signature

Review: In a Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis

Monday, October 20, 2014 3


In a Handful of Dust by Mindy McGinnis
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books on Sept. 23rd, 2014
Series: Not a Drop to Drink #2
Pages: 384
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Post- Apocalyptic 
Source: Purchased
Rating: 3/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

FROM GOODREADS: The only thing bigger than the world is fear.

Lucy's life by the pond has always been full. She has water and friends, laughter and the love of her adoptive mother, Lynn, who has made sure that Lucy's childhood was ver different from her own. Yet it seems Lucy's future is settled already-- a house, a man, children, and a water source-- and anything beyond their life by the pond is beyond reach.

When the disease burns through their community, the once life-saving water of the pond might be the source of what's killing them now. rumors of desalinization plants in California have lingered in Lynn's mind, and the prospect of a "normal" life for Lucy sets the two of them on an epic journey west to face new dangers: hunger, mountains, deserts, betrayal, and the perils of a world so vast that Lucy fears she could be lost forever, only to disappear in a handful of dust.

In this companion to Not a Drop to Drink Mindy McGinnis thrillingly combines the heart-swelling hope of a journey, the challenges of establishing your own place in the world, and the gripping physical danger of nature in a futuristic frontier.

MY THOUGHTS:

Dear In a Handful of Dust,

Oh how I was awaiting your release. I recently read your cousin, Not a Drop to Drink, and oh how I loved loved LOVED it and pushed it onto any and all who hadn't read it yet, even going as far as buying a copy for my friend, Sarah. I just knew that you were going to be epic, but sadly, I was a little disappointed in you. Maybe I overhyped myself and that was it. I'm not sure. I mean, don't get me wrong you were still fascinating because I love your world, but I just found you lacking when I compared you to your cousin. 

Of course, you don't follow the same tracks as Not a Drop to Drink. However, you are set in the same world about ten years later, and from a different point of view, Lucy's, who we originally met as a little girl, who Lynn had to basically take under her wing. When a disease basically kills people in their community left and right, Lucy and Lynn decide to leave and head west in hopes of Sanctuary.

Lucy and Lynn meet friends and definitely lots of foes and cray cray peeps, but I just wasn't as interested or sucked into you as I was before. I still can't pinpoint the exact reason why. I wanted to love you as much as I did your cousin, but it just didn't happen. Lucy was a great character, although sometimes I felt she was a little naive, which is to be expected when she was raised in a community unlike Lynn was. It broke my heart what they had to go through concerning the loss of some people, either due to death or just by leaving in general. I missed Stebbs!!!!

You are not without action, although maybe it was little slow. I expected them to run into a lot more trouble than they did, but it was interesting being able to see what was going on in the rest of the world. Although some parts of you were disturbing and full of what the f-ery!!!! I can't speak of it though because spoilers but WOW. Crazy stuff. 

Although I didn't love you to pieces, In a Handful of Dust, I still thought you were a great read. I would warn others not to overly excite themselves over you, because I fear they might be left a little disappointed like I was, but if they want to know more about Lynn and what's happening in the rest of the world after the shortage of drinkable water, then they should definitely pick you up! Three stars to you, In a Handful of Dust, because I liked you but I just didn't OMG LOVE you. 

Thankful for my abundance of drinkable water,

Becca



Let's Discuss!
Have you read Not a Drop to Drink?
Have you read In a Handful of Dust?
What did you think?
post signature

Stacking the Shelves (24)

Sunday, October 19, 2014 5
Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!


PURCHASED:
None. I was a good girl this week! :)

WON:
Sylo by D.J. MacHale
Storm by D.J. MacHale

FOR REVIEW:
I'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios
A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

BIGGEST OF THANKS GO TO HARPER TEEN, MACMILLAN, & PENGUIN TEEN! <3
WHAT'S HAPPENING IN BECCA LAND?

working like crazy as one does! ;)

Sorry this update is going to be short and sweet, but I'm posting on the fly late at night and I have an early day tomorrow full of a 16 hour shift. Some cray cray stuff has been happening on the internet concerning psychotic authors as well, so I'm kind of hesitant on posting too much at the moment. (Not that I don't already have way too much of my info out there) I just kind of want to unplug from it all. No worries, I'll be here tomorrow with a review! 

I've read a ton this week! But the book I've loved the most so far (I seriously want to hug it to my chest always and forever) was The Boy Next Door by Katie Van Ark. Mark it as to-read, lovelies. Unfortunately it doesn't release until Jan/Feb but luckily that's not too far! Trust me, it's the bomb. I'm currently reading I'll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios, and then I think I'll be reading Captive by Aimee Carter. What are you reading??

BLOG POSTS YOU MAY HAVE MISSED:
POSTS AROUND THE BLOG-O-SPHERE:

That's it for me!

Did you get anything amazeballs this week?

Link me up so I can come see! :)
post signature

DISCUSSION: To Pseudo Name or To Not Pseudo Name

Saturday, October 18, 2014 15

In light of recent events that revolve around a seriously psychotic author flat out stalking a fellow blogger, I thought there was something that needed to be discussed (Other than the fact that stalking a blogger because they didn't like your book is NEVER EVER OKAY).

I started this blog in January. When I did, I never even thought about whether or not I should use a fake name. Some may say that might have been a little naive and I somewhat agree, but I never thought that there was a reason to. I mean, who would've thought that someone would go to these lengths over a bad review. I certainly didn't.

I never considered using a fake name. In fact, I was unaware that people did this when I started this blog. I was a newbie, so of course, I didn't know and I didn't worry about it. Looking back, I almost wonder if I should have worried about it. 

It's honestly scary that an author went to these lengths. It's disturbing, disgusting, and I can't wrap my mind around it. The fact that a news source gave this author a platform to talk about her insanity with stalking infuriates me. By doing that, they are condoning her actions, and saying that "hey, stalking is okay". Well, it's not. It never has been, and I sure as hell hope it never will be okay.

Bloggers have the right to use a fake name, and I totally see why they do now. In my naivety, I didn't. Becca is my real name. I really do live in Oklahoma. I continually share details about my own life on my blog, and the fact that it would be so easily for some nutcase to find me kind of scares me. 

Authors behaving badly is nothing new to the blogging community. I've seen way more than I've wanted to in my first ten months of blogging. I had no idea that this even happened before I came so involved. I wish that it didn't. We are all here for the same reason-- our love of books, and we should never EVER EVER EVER (in the words of Taylor Swift) have to worry about our safety like a fellow blogger is having to do right now. She's not the only one who has had to, and every single time I post a negative review, I fear that I'll be next. Which of us will be on the chopping block next? 

It shouldn't be this way.

It's wrong, and I have no idea how someone could ever get it into their twisted mind that it isn't. The sad fact is that I saw authors actually joking about wanting to do this today. Stalking is not a joke. It's utterly frightening that this is something we all are having to think about today. 

My loving hugs are going out to who was affected in this frustrating, crazy act. All my thoughts have been about this today, and just know that the blogging community is rallying for you. We ALL have your back. 

Do you use a pseudo name online?
Should bloggers seriously consider doing this now?
Let's discuss!

For obvious reasons, I didn't name names in this because both names have been slandered all across the interwebz today. Likewise, I will not share the article either. I don't condone any of this, and will not support it by sharing the details. 

post signature

Waiting on Wednesday (35)

Wednesday, October 15, 2014 6
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

Of Dreams and Rust (Of Metal and Wishes #2) by Sarah Fine
Releases on: August 4th, 2015 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

FROM GOODREADS: War erupts in the bittersweet sequel to "Of Metal and Wishes",
inspired by The Phantom of the Opera and called "relentlessly engrossing" by The Romantic Times.

In the year since the collapse of the slaughterhouse where Wen worked as her father's medical assistant, she'd held all her secrets close. She works in the clinic at the weapons factory and sneaks away to nurse Bo, once the Ghost, now a boy determined to transform himself into a living machine. Their strange, fragile friendship soothes some of the ache of missing Melik, the strong-willed Noor who walked away from Wen all those months ago-- but it can't quell her fears for him.

The Noor are waging a rebellion in the west. When she overhears plans to crush Melik's people with the powerful war machines created at the factory, Wen makes the painful decision to leave behind all she has known-- including Bo-- to warn them. But the farther she journeys into the warzone, the more confusing things become. A year of brutality seems to have changed Melik, and Wen has a decision to make about him and his people: How much is she willing to sacrifice to save them from complete annihilation?

Why I'm waiting:

1. Dat cover.
2. I read & reviewed Of Metal and Wishes and OMG I NEED IT'S SEQUEL RIGHT NOW. I actually loved it so much, I gave away a copy on here!
3. Melik <3

What do you think of my WoW?
What is your WoW for this week?
Let me know in the comments, and be sure to leave me a link so I can come back and leave you some comment love! 

Thanks for stopping by Pivot Book Reviews!


post signature
Copyright © 2014 Pivot Book Reviews
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs