Stacking the Shelves (14)

Saturday, June 28, 2014 9
Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!


PURCHASED:
It's Not Summer Without You (Summer, #2) by Jenny Han
Burn for Burn (Burn for Burn #1) by Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
Siege & Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo





WON:
Man Made Boy by John Skovron
(Don't You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn 
(THANKS MATT!)

A wicked journal and Hexed poster plus $100 amazon GC (Thanks Michelle Krys!!) 

FOR REVIEW: 
Win the Rings by K.D. Van Brunt (Thank you KD!)

So what's happening in Becca Land??
Just working my life away. Ha ha. Other than that, I may have met a boy..... we shall see if it actually develops into anything or if he's a total no go. Time will tell. But he's got these adorbs glasses, and is super sweet. Anyways, I read a few really great books this week. I'm currently devouring Amy & Roger's Epic Detour. OMG SO GOOD, and in between that and working, I was preparing my swap gift for my book swap partner, making something special for the bestie, and preparing for Camp NaNoWriMo! Anyone else participating?? So between Camp and the Fourth of July coming up, you may not see me much unless I get a ton of posts scheduled in advanced (which I'm hoping to do!) I hope everyone else is having a fabulous week! :)

Also, that little thing I made for my bestie, aka Sarah? Well, since she got it yesterday and the surprise has been surprised, here's a little peek at what I made her. A hand-painted tote! She already told me that I need to open an etsy shop for it, but it wasn't until she posted it on twitter and got the same reaction from several other people that I decided to open shop! Would you be interested in a tote bag like this?  Let me know! I'll be posting a link/post about it when I open up! :) 



Blog Posts you may have missed:

That's it for me, I think!
What about you guys?
Did you get anything amazeballs this week?
post signature

REVIEW: The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

Friday, June 27, 2014 6
The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes
Published by: HarperTeen  on May 20th, 2014
Series: No
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Genre: Contemporary
Source: Won
Rating: 5/5
Buy the Book or Add it to Goodreads!

FROM GOODREADS: Soccer star Lainey Mitchell is gearing up to spend an epic summer with her amazing boyfriend, Jason, when he suddenly breaks up with her- no reasons, no warning, and in public no less! Lainey is more than crushed, but with help from her friend Bianca, she resolves to do whatever it takes to get Jason back.

And that's just when the girls stumble across a copy of The Art of War. With just one glance, they're sure they can use the book to lure Jason back into Lainey's arms. So Lainey channels her inner warlord, recruiting spies to gather intel and persuading her coworker Micah to pose as her new boyfriend to make Jason jealous. After a few "dates", it looks like her plan is going to work! But now her relationship with Micah is starting to feel like more than just a game.

What's a girl to do when what she wants is totally different from what she needs? How do you figure out the person you're meant to be with if you're still figuring out the person you're meant to be?

MY THOUGHTS:

Dearest The Art of Lainey, 

You follow soccer star Lainey Mitchell and the demise of her relationship with (ew) Jason, but Lainey is one persistent gal who refuses to give up on Jason. So her and her friend, Bianca devise a plan following the infamous book, The Art of War, to win Jason back, and ultimately drag a few "spies" into their shenanigans. But Lainey starts to fall for one of her cohorts and can't decide whether to keep herself in the past or move on towards a brighter future with Micah (yum).

I won a copy (signed, YIPPEE) of you through a fellow blogger, and once my friend, Pili, got wind of this fact, well, she insisted that I pick you up immediately. I'm not one to let serious book-pushing pass me by, especially if it comes from this girl, because usually she's right, such as was the case with you, Lainey. I LOVED YOU SO MUCH! AH!

Lainey is full of spunk, and if there's one thing I love about characters, it's spunk. I related to her character immediately with the public, messed-up break up...Although, thank the Lord mine wasn't THAT public. But I really really really disliked Jason. I was rooting against that ship right from the start. Lainey's friends quickly grabbed my heart, as well. Micah and Bianca were so well rounded, and I loved that most about them. Plus, Micah = MAJOR SWOONAGE. I never knew a boy with a mohawk could cause me to swoon so much.

The fake "dates" that Micah and Lainey went on were hilarious, as well. I really loved when they go to the pancake place. I really want to go there if such a place exists. If one doesn't, then someone needs to make this happen. 

Lainey's whirlwind roller coaster ride of tricks to try and win Jason back, were interesting, and related well to The Art of War. I genuinely adored you, The Art of Lainey. I really cannot state that enough. I'm so glad that I was pushed into reading you so quickly after receiving you, because my life would be seriously lacking without Lainey and Micah and Bianca. They feel like old friends to me now, and for that, Paula Stokes, I thank you. FIVE HEARTS to your wonderful story that made me giggle out loud and had my dad giving me the side-eye, thinking I was crazy for laughing at a book. 

Love (and book-pushing) you always,

Becca

P.S. Be sure to check out the Cover Puppies version of Lainey! There's also cupcakes from Pili's Ink & Batter!


Have you read The Art of Lainey?
What did you think?
Let's discuss!

As always, thanks for stopping by Pivot Book Reviews! <3
post signature

Cover Puppies (22) - The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes

Thursday, June 26, 2014 12
Cover Puppies is a weekly post here on Pivot Book Reviews, where I combine my extreme love for my doggies and YA books, and recreate my favorite book covers with my puppies!

This week, I'm featuring..
(GENTRY)
The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes!!

FROM GOODREADS: Soccer star Lainey Mitchell is gearing up to spend an epic summer with her amazing boyfriend, Jason, when he suddenly breaks up with her- no reasons, no warning, and in public no less! Lainey is more than crushed but with the help from her friend Bianca, she resolves to do whatever it takes to get Jason back.

And that's when the girls stumble across a copy of The Art of War. With just one glance, they're sure they can use the book to lure Jason back into Lainey's arms. So Lainey channels her inner warlord, recruiting spies to gather intel and persuading her coworker Micah to pose as her new boyfriend to make Jason jealous. After a few "dates", it looks like her plan is going to work! But now her relationship with Micah is starting to feel like more than just a game.

What's a girl to do when what she wants is totally different from what she needs? How do you figure out the person you're meant to be with if you're still figuring out the person you're meant to be?


**

YAY! Pili's INK & BATTER is teaming up with Cover Puppies this week to feature The Art of Lainey by Paula Stokes. Admittedly, Pili was the one to push The Art of Lainey onto me when she saw I won a copy. Boy, am I glad she did, because this book... *flails* I LOVE IT. But I'll save my review for tomorrow! Go check out Pili's AMAZING cupcakes! My personal favorite this week is the one with the pancakes from one of Lainey & Micah's 'dates' at Miscreant's! 

Thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews, and be sure to hit that follow button so you get the newest Cover Puppies posts the second I hit publish!!
post signature

TBR THURSDAY (2)

10
TBR Thursday is a new weekly meme hosted by the wickedly amazing Sarah, where you pick one book from your TBR that you have owned for three months or more and read it over the week/weekend!

Sounds amazeballs right?! Well, this is perfect for me, because we all know how insane my TBR shelves look, and let's face it, a ton of those books I have had for way over three months. *sad face* BUT hopefully this will help me read some of my older books instead of just focusing on the immediate recently released!

My second pick for TBR Thursday shall be..

dun dun DUN!



AMY & ROGER'S EPIC DETOUR by Morgan Matson!!

FROM GOODREADS: Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it's Amy's responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. The only problem is, since her father died in a car accident, she isn't ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip - and has plenty of baggage of his own. The road home may be unfamiliar - especially with their friendship venturing into uncharted territory - but together, Amy and Roger will figure out how to map their way.

**

After reading Since You've Been Gone and absolutely adoring it, I knew I needed some more Morg Mat in ma life ASAP. Yet when I purchased and received A&RED in the mail, it just went to my TBR shelf, and sat....until now! I'm so excited to devour another Morgan Matson book, and all the hype about A&RED has me all ready to dive in! Also, my first TBR Thursday pick was Something Real.. be on the lookout for my review in the coming days! :) 

Have you read Amy & Roger's Epic Detour?
Do you participate in TBR Thursday?
Let's discuss! 

Thanks for stopping by Pivot Book Reviews, and be sure to stop by Sarah's blog, Words with Sarah, to see what her TBR Thursday pick is this week! <3
post signature

Waiting on Wednesday (24)

Wednesday, June 25, 2014 5
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking The Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release that you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

Zodiac by Romina Russell
Releases on: December 9th, 2014 ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

FROM GOODREADS: At the dawn of time, there were thirteen Houses in the Zodiac galaxy. Now, only twelve remain...

In the Zodiac galaxy, your astrological sign determines everything about you. The stars tell the story of your life, and nothing- and nobody- is real unless you can actually touch them.

It's a galaxy divided, where personalities clash and suspicions run high. Everyone is a potential enemy, so it's best to stick to your kind. Hard-working realists in House Virgo scoff at sweet-talking Librans, who use stellar social skills to climb to the top. And while the brooding twins of House Gemini take forever to make a decision, optimistic Sagittarians hop from adventure to adventure without a thought. 

House Cancer prizes loyalty and honesty above all else. When an unforeseen catastrophe strikes their ocean planet, the stars select sixteen-year-old Rho as their new Guardian. Rho suspects an ancient, power-hungry evil of legend has returned to exact revenge across the entire Zodiac. But Rho is an unknown novice and one of the youngest Guardians ever. Who should believe her?

And with stars anywhere but in her favor, how can Rho defeat an enemy she can't touch?

This first book of an epic sci-fi-meets-high-fantasy series takes place in a galaxy inspired by the twelve astrological signs- rendered with stunning complexity that both transports readers to a fascinating new world and holds up a mirror to reflect how we can better know each other in our own.

WHY I'M WAITING:
1.Dat cover. (I'm a cover lover!)
2. This is such a unique concept! Houses based on astrological signs?! Color me intrigued!
3. New sci-fi!!!
4. Also, I think Rho is a really badass name. Definitely one I've never seen before.

What do you think of my WoW?
What is your WoW for this week?
Let me know in the comments, and be sure to leave me a link so I can come back and leave you some comment love! 

Thanks for stopping by Pivot Book Reviews!

post signature

REVIEW: Cress by Marissa Meyer

Tuesday, June 24, 2014 6
Cress by Marissa Meyer
Published by: Feiwel & Friends on February 4th, 2014
Series: The Lunar Chronicles #3
Pages: 550
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction, Dystopain, Retelling
Source: Gifted
Rating: 4/5
BUY THE BOOK or ADD IT TO GOODREADS!

FROM GOODREADS: In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they're plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who's only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she's just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplise.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is seperated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

MY THOUGHTS:

Dear Cress,

Let down your hair... oh, wait. Uh... well, this is awkward. Anyways *ahem* Granted, you do have Rapunzel's hair. I'm just not sure it would reach me from Outer Space. You continue the fairytale retellings that started The Lunar Chronicles series with Cinder and it's follow-up, Scarlet. Your main character, Crescent is stuck in a satellite by her lonesome until Cinder and her crew, including the super swoony Captain Thorne, come to her rescue.

I'll admit. You were slow going at first. I was ecstatic about you, because I mean, you're a Rapunzel retelling, which just happens to be one of my very favorite fairytales. However, it killed me to get through the first 50 or so pages. I actually put you down for a bit, and picked up another book. But I got my butt in gear, and pushed through. I'm so so so happy I did, because after that slow beginning, WOW! You...what did you do to me?! I couldn't turn the pages fast enough.

Cress. Oh, how I fell in love with Cress. She's so cute, and her reactions to things on Earth are adorbs. Then there's Thorne. My heart really palpitated for Thorne. Oh gosh, just thinking about it, makes my heart beat faster. I SHIP THEM SO HARD.

Of course, we see glimpses of Cinder, Scarlet, Wolf, Iko, Emperor Kai, and all our other characters and are introduced to few new ones as well. Lots of action. Lots of swoonage. Lots of tears. Yes, there were some sad parts in you, Cress. But you were just simply amazing. Honestly, you have been my favorite of the series, hands down, and the fact that I'm having to wait until NEXT winter for Winter just grinds my gears, because you have a killer cliffhanger. But it's okay, because we just got word about a new book in your series about Queen Levana. Oooooh. How exciting, right?! All in all, you were a fab contribution to your series, Cress. Fans of this series will not be disappointed, that's for sure! I know I wasn't!

Flailing hard over you, 

Becca


Have you read Cress?
What did you think?
Let's discuss!
post signature

Book Pre-Pushing (1) - Talon by Julie Kagawa

4
 Book Pre-Pushing is a post inspired by The Perpetual Page-Turner's Save the Date feature. Every once and a while, I get the chance to read a book that doesn't release until later in the year, and as such, I can't post my review until closer to that date. BUT I really need to flail about said book, and since I like to push books into people's hands, I thought I could list a few reasons why I want to pre-push, per say, this book before I share my review! 
Talon by Julie Kagawa
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Releases on: October 28th, 2014
Series: Talon #1
Pages: 400
Format: ARC
Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal
Source: Won

FROM GOODREADS: Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon slayers. Hiding in human form and growing their numbers in secret, the dragons of Talon have become strong and cunning, and they're positioned to take over the world with humans none the wiser.

Ember and Dante Hill are the only sister and brother known to dragonkind. Trained to infiltrate society, Ember wants to live the teen experience and enjoy a summer of freedom before taking her destined place in Talon. But destiny is a matter of perspective, and a rogue dragon will soon challenge everything Ember has been taught. As Ember struggles to accept her future, she and her brother are hunted by the Order of St. George.

Soldier Garret Xavier Sebastian has a mission to seek and destroy all dragons, and Talon's newest recruits in particular. But he cannot kill unless he is certain he has found his prey: and nothing is certain about Ember Hill. Faced with Ember's bravery, confidence, and all-too-human desires, Garret begins to question everything that the Order has ingrained in him: and what he might be willing to give up to find the truth about dragons.

First reaction to synopsis: I wasn't sure if Talon was going to be my type of read. I couldn't get past the fact that dragons were hiding in a human's body. *face palm* I guess I didn't really realize they were like shape shifters, except with dragons.

First reaction after reading: Holy sh*t. Move over, Khalessi. There's a new Mother of Dragons in town. Forget Winter. Talon is Coming.

Reasons to pine after Talon:
  • The world was unlike anything I've ever read. I seriously want MOAR backstory. I want to see more inside Talon, because it was so engrossing to me. I love secret societies. The backstory/world of Talon was actually what kept me flipping pages to begin with.
  • DRAGONS. Seriously, besides the Defiance trilogy, I haven't personally read many YA books with dragons. Let alone, a dragon as a main character. This was a refreshing change in an oversaturated market full of all kinds of paranormal creatures.
  • Multiple POVs. Not only do we get the story from the dragon herself, Miss Ember Hill. We also get swoony soldier Garret's, as well. Later on, we are also introduced to a certain rogue dragon, but personally, I was all caught up in Garret and Ember to care too much about him. I really liked seeing the opposite sides of the story from different POVs. I related more to Garret and Ember because of it.
  • SWOONS. I don't know what it was about Garret, maybe the whole soldier aspect of it, but boy, I was flailing over this particular boy. Can I have one?
  • Rebellious, action-packed plot. Talon is not lacking in the action department. I was on the edge of my seat throughout the entirety.
  • That ending. The first book hasn't even released, and I am DYING inside because I need the second installment SO BAD!! 

Talon has hands-down lived up to every expectation. Julie Kagawa is always a master story weaver! Consider yourself pre-pushed into reading Talon this fall! Trust me, you don't want to miss it! Still not convinced? Look for my review at the end of September!
post signature

10 Things Every Bookworm Worries About

Monday, June 23, 2014 18


1. To go out at night or stay home and read
I don't know about you guys, but this is something I constantly worry about. I get asked to go doing something mundane, but but but this book that I'm reading is so good. I need to finish it like ASAP.

I NEED TO KNOW WHAT'S GOING TO HAPPEN!! If I go out, all I'm going to be doing the whole time is wondering about my book and feel miserable. 

I'm not a people person. I'm a book person.

Yeah, most of the time, the choice I make is pretty clear. Just know, I do feel a tiny bit bad about not going out. BUT THIS BOOK IS WORTH IT, OKAY?

2. To let them borrow or not to let them borrow
I hate letting people borrow my books. I know this is a little selfish, but the entire time, I worry about ...
A.) Did they wash their hands before opening it? Are they getting fingerprints all over my beautiful book's pristine pages?

B.) ARE THEY EATING WHILE READING?! ARE THERE GOING TO BE CRUMBS IN MY PAGES?! 

C.) Did they use my book as an umbrella during that last thunderstorm? 

D.) Is their dog using my baby as their new chew toy? 

E.) OMG. Do they have a bookmark? They better not be dog earing my pages. I should've given them a complimentary bookmark. OMGOMGOMG. 

3. To book hype or not to book hype
I don't like book hype. AT ALL. Because I always set myself up for disappointment. The one time this hasn't happened was with The Winner's Curse. Oh that book deserves all the hype. If I book is being crazily hyped up though, I worry about it living up to it. WHY IS THIS BOOK SO SPECIAL?! AM I GOING TO THINK IT'S SPECIAL? WHAT IF I'M THE ONE PERSON WHO HATES IT? I DON'T WANNA BE A BLACK SHEEP. SO. MUCH. PRESSURE.

4. To book push or not to book push
If you know me, I like to push books onto people. But I constantly worry about whether the person I pushed said book on, is going to completely fall in love with it or not. WHAT IF THEY DON'T? ARE THEY GOING TO HATE ME? PLEASE JUST LOVE THE BOOK I PUSHED? PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE OMG

5. To buy food for dinner or  buy that newest book release
Is dinner really important to me?
I can totes go a few days without eating, because I need this book like yesterday. 
This is something others worry about, right?
Food schmood. I'll just fill my stomach up with water instead while I'm devouring my new book. 

Words are food too! Food for the brain, yo!

6. To get a boyfriend IRL or just stick with the Fictional Boyfriends
Seriously guys. Boys have cooties. Yuck.
Plus, they are mean.
So it's way better that I just stick with my fictional boyfriends than actually get one, right?
I mean, just think of all the reading time I'll be giving up to have a real boyfriend.

Even worse, just think of how jealous an IRL boyfriend would be of all my book boyfriends. I ain't about to deal with that. Leave that jealousy drama for your mama. Smh. 

7. To go on a book buying ban or not
If anyone needs to go on a book buying ban, it's probably me. I mean, two bookshelves are full of my TBR books. TWO BOOKSHELVES people. So I'm constantly trying to convince myself I need a book buying ban. Of course, the fact that I worry about it doesn't actually spur me to put myself on one. I just can't. 

Oh, look! A NEW BOOK! BUYING RIGHT NOW! Fail.

8. To OTP or not OTP
This book couple is my One True Pairing..until I read my next book and have a new one. I thought I was only supposed to have ONE OTP, but I can't do it. If I had to pick one OTP to save my life, I would be dead right now. 

So basically I have LOTP's. Lots of True Pairings. BOOM!

9. To watch the Movie adapt or not to watch
I struggle with this as well. I have this quirk where I have to read the book before I watch the movie adaptation. BUT the movie looks so good, Becca! AND it's getting rave reviews. You need to see the movie. BUT WHAT ABOUT READING THE BOOK? Okay, I'll wait. Until I see another preview and the cycle repeats. Case in point: The Book Thief. I still have yet to watch the movie, because I haven't read the book. I really need to do that. 

Also, what if the movie adapt is getting horrible reviews and the preview looks less than promising (i.e. Vampire Academy)? What if the movie is BETTER than the book? (Highly unlikely) What if the movie butchers the book? (Highly likely) 

This is a horrible dilemma. 

10. Where is the mailman?
Did he come yet?
Did I get anything?
What if he lost that package that I was supposed to get?
Why isn't it here yet?
*kicks mailbox*


BONUS
To buy a new bookshelf or just keep piling stacks of books on the floor.
What if the MC of this book dies?!
When is the next book in the series coming out?
What if your favorite author NEVER writes another book?
WHAT DO I READ NEXT?! OMGOMGOMG. *breathes into paperbag*


LET'S DISCUSS!
Do you worry about some of these things? All of them?
Or something I forgot to mention, because I was worried about thinking of all of my worries?
post signature

Stacking the Shelves (13)

Saturday, June 21, 2014 18
Stacking the Shelves is a weekly meme hosted by Tynga's Reviews, where bloggers share their weekly book hauls! I absolutely love showcasing what I received over the week, and seeing what goodies everyone else got as well!!!


WON:

Broken Hearts, Fences, and Other Things to Mend by Katie Finn *SIGNED* (Thanks Donna!)
Tease by Amanda Maciel (Thanks Tanecia!)
Midnight Thief by Livia Blackburne *SIGNED* (Thanks Stacie!)
Divided by Elsie Chapman (Thanks Andye!)
Fan Art by Sarah Tregay (Thanks Gaby!)

So what's happening in Becca Land??
Like usual, nothing much to report here. I lead a very exciting life, obvi. We had two kids staying at our house for most of the week, because their mom was having a baby (YAY!) so I was mentally exhausted when it came to blogging this week. I just needed to take an impromptu break it seems! Sorry for just falling off the boat like that! 

I was SUPPOSED to go see TFiOS this week. Yes, I'm pretty much the only one who hasn't seen it, but that's mostly because I don't like going to theatres, because movie crowds annoy the heck outta me. I like to go when the hype is down, so I'm like the only person in the room. But anyways, like I was saying, I was supposed to go on Wednesday night, but my best friend ditched me. Which shouldn't be such a surprise, because this seems to happen a lot lately, but God. I was so freaking pissed. Instead, I treated myself to ice cream and an amazing book! I don't need to go see TFiOS anyways. I'll just wait for the dang DVD! *CROSSES ARMS*

Ahem. Yeah. Still holding a few grudges about that. 

Blog Posts you may have missed:

Posts around the blogosphere:

Guest Reviews at Reading Teen
Guest Post at Oh, The Books!
  • To All The Boys I've Loved Before letter - Dear Edward

That's it for me, I think!
What about you guys?
Did you get anything amazeballs this week?
post signature
Copyright © 2014 Pivot Book Reviews
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs