The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu - ARC Review

Friday, May 30, 2014 8
The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu
Published by: Roaring book Press on June 1st, 2014
Series: No
Pages: 208
Format: ARC
Genre: Contemporary/Realistic Fiction
Source: Won from Fierce Reads twitter
Rating: 3/5
Buy the Book or Add it to Goodreads!!
FROM GOODREADS: Everyone knows Alice slept with two guys at one party. When Healy High star quarterback, Brandon Fitzsimmons, dies in a car crash, it was because he was sexting with Alice. Ask anybody. Rumor has it Alice Franklin is a slut. It's written all over the "slut stall" in the girls' bathroom: "Alice had sex in exchange for math answers" and "Alice got an abortion last semester." After Brandon dies, the rumors start to spiral out of control. In this remarkable debut novel, four Healy High students tell all they "know" about Alice- and in doing so reveal their own secrets and motivations, painting a raw look at the realities of teen life. But in this novel from Jennifer Mathieu, exactly what is the truth about Alice? In the end there's only one person to ask: Alice herself.

MY THOUGHTS: 

Dear The Truth About Alice,

You were the type of book that I wouldn't have picked up before I won an ARC. It's not you.. I just don't read much Realistic Fiction that deals with deep issues -- especially when it comes to bullying and rumors. I dealt with my own type of bullying/rumors-spread-about-me when I was in my senior year of high school, and it was extremely tough for me to go through. I just don't like to rehash those memories by reading books like you, because it was a dark time for me, but you know what? I enjoyed you a lot.

The truth is, I had an extremely hard time putting you down, The Truth About Alice. I stayed up until 3 am reading you, which doesn't happen very often because I love my sleep. The four perspectives you are told from- Kurt, Josh, Elaine, and Kelsie- were so engrossing and enlightening. Each chapter revealed a new secret about them, and why they were treating Alice the way they were. It gave a whole new insight to bullying from the bullies. It's crazy how fast a rumor can spread, and the ramifications of said rumor. The sad thing is it could have all been avoided if someone would have had the balls to confront the person the rumor was about. By the end of you, I was dying to get Alice's version of the story, and to my surprise, I did. 

You were a super fast read, but one that I was fully immersed in from the beginning. Now, The Truth About Alice, you weren't one of the best books I've ever read, by far, BUT you kept me engaged and entertained throughout. Each characters voice was so different, I would've thought it was four different authors writing you. That's no small feat for your debut author Jennifer Mathieu. Three hearts to you, The Truth About Alice. I'm curious to see what your author comes up with next, and even if it deals with the deep stuff, I'll probably be picking it up.

Love, 

Becca


Was this review helpful?
Have you read The Truth About Alice?
Let me know in the comments!

As always, thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews! I wuv you all! <3

*As according to FTC Guidelines, I must state that I was graciously provided with an advanced copy of this book from Fierce Reads in exchange for an honest review. This did not effect my review in any way.*
post signature

#CoverPuppies (18) - A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller

Thursday, May 29, 2014 14
Cover Puppies is a weekly post here on Pivot Book Reviews, where I combine my extreme love for my doggies and YA books, and recreate my favorite book covers with my puppies!

This week, I'm featuring.. 

(Gentry)

A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Waller!

FROM GOODREADS: Welcome to the world of the fabulously wealthy in London, 1909, where dresses and houses are overwhelmingly opulent, social class means everything, and women are taught to be nothing more than wives and mothers. Into this world comes seventeen-year-old Victoria Darling, who wants only to be an artist- a nearly impossible dream for a girl.

After Vicky poses nude for her illicit art class, she is expelled from her French finishing school. Shamed and scandalized, her parents try to marry her off to the wealthy Edmund Carrick-Humphrey. But Vicky has other things on her mind: her clandestine application to the Royal College of Art; her participation in the suffragette movement; and her growing attraction to a working-calss boy who may be her muse- or may be the love of her life. As the world of debutante balls, corsets, and high society obligations closes in around her, Vicky must figure out: just how much is she willing to pursue her dreams?

Buy the Book!!

**


Hey, I haven't read this book. But Pili is demanding it be read by me soon. I promise it will happen. One of these days!!! I feel like I say that a lot. Anyways, I really do love this cover, and how Vicky's dress just pops! Gentry was really cooperative this week (for once) but that's probably because I don't think she realized I was taking pictures from behind her. Haha. ANYWAYS... Cover Puppies has paired up with Pili's Ink and Batter once again this week, because it's SO much fun! Plus she is pretty much the best cupcake-tress ever. Go check Ink & Batter out right now, and drool over the *nom nom noms*

Thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews, and be sure to hit that follow button so you get the newest Cover Puppies posts the second I hit publish!!
post signature

#ArmchairBEA Day Four - Giveaway

Wednesday, May 28, 2014 21

Giveaways 
One of the favorite days of past years is our day of giveaways! You host the giveaway on your own site and link it up here for all our participants to come and visit. Don’t forget to give Armchair BEA a little love when advertising, but you can choose your own guidelines and deadlines. 

I bet you're wondering what I have to giveaway! Well, how about a hardcover of We Were Liars by E. Lockhart?


Interested? Enter the Rafflecopter form below, and (I have to say it, it's required when I have a giveaway that I say this) MAY THE ODDS BE EVER IN YOUR FAVOR!!!!!

**Oh, and here's the rules/mumbo jumbo/stuff you may need to know before entering:**

US only!
Must be 13+ (or have parents permission to enter)
I am not responsible for packages lost in the mail.
There will be ONE winner chosen randomly by Rafflecopter. Winner will be emailed and have 48 hours to respond or another winner will be chosen.
I reserve the right to disqualify any entries I see unfit.
Please don't cheat. Cheaters never win. (Because I check ALL entries. You've been warned!!) 
Giveaway starts today and ends June 12th! 
HAVE FUN!!!! :)

post signature

#ArmchairBEA Day Three - Blogging Horizons/Novellas

18

Expanding Blogging Horizons 
What do you think about when you think about going beyond blogging or expanding your horizons? Is it a redesign of your blog? Have you branched out into freelance writing or even published a novel of your very own? Or, have you moved into a different venue like podcasts or vlogging? This is the day to tell us about how you have expanded on blogging in your own unique way. 

Novellas/Short Stories 
Now it is time to give a little love to those little stories in your life. Share your love for your favorite shorts of any form. What is a short story or novella that doesn’t get the attention that it deserves? Recommend to readers what shorts you would recommend they start with. How about listing some short story anthologies based upon genres or authors? 

Both of these topics are really hard for me to discuss, but as far as expanding blogging horizons goes, I have tried vlogging, and it's really fun, but I just think I'm better behind the scenes instead of in front of a screen if you get what I'm saying. Words just sound better coming from my hands than my mouth. 

I try to go beyond blogging about just book reviews by incorporating Cover Puppies (check out the tab above!) and just talking about bookish topics. I don't want everything on my blog just to be reviews. I want to interact with people as well! 

I do actually write in my spare time. I'm working on my second novel, but I haven't even attempted querying or anything like that. I have to brave edits before that can happen. But it will happen, hopefully soon! 

**

Novellas aren't really my thing. 

Of course, it's kind of hypocritical for me to say that when I've never read one, but the thing about me is.. well, I'm a physical book reader. I do not own a kindle. I do not read books on my computer. Just physical books. I talk a little more about that here

However, I did just recently purchase my very first bound book of novellas! YAY! I am obsessed with the Throne of Glass series (anyone else??), so I knew I had to get my hands on The Assassin's Blade! It will be my very first novella experience, so we'll see how that goes! Also, this is another reason I'm not happy about not being at BEA14. I NEEDZ HEIR OF FIRE!!!! *grumbles and sobs*

post signature

Waiting on Wednesday (20)

6
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking The Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release that you're eagerly anticipating!


This week I'm waiting on:

Rites of Passage by Joy Hensley 
Releases on: September 9th, 2014 Add it to Goodreads!!

FROM GOODREADS: Sam McKenna's never turned down a dare. And she's not going to start with the last one her brother gave her before he died.

So Sam joins the first-ever class of girls at the prestigious Denmark Military Academy. She's expecting push-ups and long runs, rope climbing and mud-crawling. As a military brat, she can handle an obstacle course just as well as the boys. She's even expecting the hostility she gets from some of the cadets who don't think girls belong there. What she's not expecting is her fiery attraction to her drill sergeant. But dating is strictly forbidden and Sam won't risk her future, or the dare, on something so petty... no matter how much she wants him.

As Sam struggles to prove herself, she discovers that some of the boys don't just want her gone- they will stop at nothing to drive her out. When their petty threats turn to brutal hazing, bleeding into every corner of her life, she realizes they are not acting alone. A decades-old secret society is alive and active... and determined to force her out.

At any cost.

Now time's running short. Sam must decide who she can trust... and choosing the wrong person could have deadly consequences.

WHY I'M WAITING:
1. Whoa. Military Academy? Can't say I've ever seen that one before. Reminds me of a Disney Channel movie I used to be obsessed with when I was younger. I think it was Cadet Kelly? Anyone know what I'm talking about? 
2. Secret society out to kill? Need to know more now.
3. Fiery attraction to a sergeant? Sa-wooooooon. 

What do you think of my WoW?
What is your WoW for this week?
Let me know in the comments, and be sure to leave me a link so I can come back and leave you some comment love! 

Thanks for stopping by Pivot Book Reviews!
post signature

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen - Epic Recs Review

Tuesday, May 27, 2014 4
What is Epic Recs, you ask? Well, it's this amaze balls book pushing club started by Judith from Paper Riot and Amber from Books of Amber! Basically we all know how much of a book pusher I am, so when I found out there was a book club where you pair up with a friend or get paired up with someone by Judith & Amber and then "push" a book on them, I knew I was game! Sarah and I teamed up for May, and she picked The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen for me to read and review! Check out what I thought below!

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
Published by: Penguin on May 11th, 2004
Series: No
Pages: 374
Format: Paperback
Genre: Contemporary
Source: Gifted 
Rating: 5/5
Buy the Book  or  Add it to Goodreads!!

FROM GOODREADS: A long, hot summer...

That's what Macy has to look forward to while her boyfriend, Jason, is away at Brain Camp. Days will be spent at a boring job in the library, evenings will be filled with vocabulary drills for the SATs, and spare time will be passed with her mother, the two of them sharing a silent grief at the traumatic loss of Macy's father.

But sometimes, unexpected things can happen- things such as the catering job at Wish, with its fun-loving, chaotic crew. Or her sister's project of renovating the neglected beach house, awakening long-buried memories. Things such as meeting Wes, a boy with a past, a taste for Truth-telling, and an amazing artistic talent, the kind of boy who could turn any girl's world upside down. As Macy ventures out of her shell, she begins to wonder, Is it really better to be safe than sorry?

MY THOUGHTS:

Dear The Truth About Forever, 

You are a book that has been sitting on my TBR shelf for quite some time. Honestly, probably way longer than I care to admit. I'm truly sorry for that, but when the opportunity arose for me to read you during Epic Recs (THANKS Sarah!!), I picked you right up even though I was still unsure about you. I should've known not to be though, because Sarah and I are twinsies and totes have the same taste in books. She raved and raved about you, and you know what? She was so right.

Macy was quite the character, introverted and reluctant to change, which I can completely relate to. I fell into her story right away, and disliked her stupid brainy boyfriend from the start. Jason was an ass, and Wes? Oh, Wes. Like Kristy and Monica would say... SA-WOOOOOON. I want a Wes to play Truth with!! I loved watching Macy make friendships with Kristy and Monica. Kristy was a hoot! Sarah Dessen's characters are just so well-rounded and filled with depth. I fell in love with all of them actually. 

Macy's summer was full of ups and downs, and twists and turns. I grieved with her, laughed with her, and fell in love with Wes with her. I'm kicking myself for not picking you,The Truth About Forever, up before now, because you were the perfect book to kick off my summer with. Now all of my other Sarah Dessen books are sitting on my TBR shelf, screaming at me to pick them up next. Bravo, Sarah Dessen. You gained yourself another fan with this stellar read! FIVE HEARTS!!!!

Love always (and forever),

Becca


Was this review helpful?
Have you read The Truth About Forever?
What Sarah Dessen book should I pick up next??
Let me know in the comments!

As always, thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews! <3

post signature

#ArmchairBEA Day Two - Author Interaction

34

Let’s talk interacting with authors IRL (in real life) or online. This is your opportunity to talk about your favorite author readings that you have attended. Or, you can feature your favorite author fan moment (i.e., an author sent you a tweet or commented on your blog). Maybe you even want to share how your interactions have changed since becoming a blogger or share your own tips that you have learned along the way when interacting with authors as a blogger. 

**

Unfortunately, being a reader from Oklahoma doesn't bring in that many author signings/readings. Over the past 3 years, I've been to four, which I'm totes not complaining at all, because I've been fortunate enough to be able to attend them all and meet some of my favorite authors. I just wish we got a couple more signings here! Which I'm not sure why, because I'm an incredibly awkward and shy person. I get all keyed up and nervous just talking to strangers, let alone strangers who wrote some of my very favorite books! I stutter, and well, I'm just a hot mess when I meet an author! BUT I LOVE IT!!! Here are some pics of the signings I've been lucky enough to go to!

This was my very first book signing to go to, which was Gena Showalter and P.C. Cast. I was so nervous to talk to them, and had no idea what to say. I just remember feeling very starstruck. 


This is me with Neal Shusterman!! I actually had no idea about this signing until I went to Gena and P.C.'s signing, and saw a flyer for it. It was a week after, and I barely was able to get off work. As you can see, I was dressed up as the Sun Drop girl, because it was like the day before Halloween and we dressed up for work. Yeah, I got quite a few strange looks at that signing, and I was still just as starstruck!


Last summer, the Fierce Reads tour stopped by in Edmond, and I got to meet Jessica Brody, Leigh Bardugo (YES!), Anna Banks, and Emmy Laybourne! They were all super sweet, and I actually got to talk to them a bit more, because I waited to get my books signed last. IT WAS AWESOME!



And a few weeks ago, the summer Dark Days tour stopped by with Danielle Paige, Kiera Cass, Kelly Armstrong, and Kimberly Derting! You can read all about that experience here! Unfortunately, the place was packed and we didn't get to talk much, but I adored all of them, and *sad face* most of my pictures turned out blurry. *grumbles*


As far as author interaction on the interwebz? I never knew that I could tweet an author, and they would reply until after starting my blog. I always tweet them my pictures of Cover Puppies, and love their responses so much! I always take screenshots of them! It doesn't matter how many times an author replies to something I tweeted, I still squeal like crazy! It's just an awesome feeling, being able to connect that way! I actually talked to Julie Kagawa about her upcoming release, Talon, last night after I finished it, and IT WAS AWESOME! Btw, if you haven't checked out Talon on goodreads yet, do it now! Trust me, you want to keep your eyes out for this book. It's amaze-balls, epic, crazy, dramatic, and all around brilliant! I will push this book so so so much when it comes out! 

What about you guys?
Any epic tales of author interaction?
Cannot wait to read everyone else's posts! :)
post signature

#ArmchairBEA Day One - Literature

Monday, May 26, 2014 16

What do you think of when you think of literature? Classics, contemporary, genre, or something else entirely? We are leaving this one up to you to come up with and share the literature that you want to chat about the most. Feel free to share a list of your favorites, break down your favorite genre, feature your favorite authors, and be creative about all things literature in general. 
---

Honestly, whenever I hear the word 'Literature', I think of a class in high school, where we had to read a ton of Shakespeare that I didn't even attempt to understand. I like to think of Literature as the old timey word for books; just like I think my full name, Rebecca, sounds a little old timey! 

There is one thing that some of you may not know about me if you haven't been to my blog before, and that fact is, I'm a pusher. I push books that I really really really loved onto people. So if I find out you haven't read a certain book that I thought was amaze-balls? Yup. I will use my book pushing force on you until you do. :) So I figured I would make a list (I'll limit myself to five, because if I don't, this will get out of hand pretty quickly!) of all the books I've recently read & desperately want to push into every single person's hands! 







Of course, these are in no particular order, but they all hold a special place in my heart right now. These are books that I still think about weeks after finishing. Have you read any of them? What do you think of when you hear the word 'literature'? Can't wait to see everyone else's posts! :) 
post signature

#ArmchairBEA: Day One - Introduction

Sunday, May 25, 2014 26


Don't know what Armchair BEA is? Well, it's a virtual convention for all the poor souls (like me) who can't attend Book Expo America and/or BEA Blogging Convention in New York this week. Check out Armchair BEA for more information!

This is my first time participating in Armchair BEA, but I'm really excited. Today we kick off by introducing ourselves and answering a few questions!

1. Please tell us a little bit about yourself: Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging? Where in the world are you blogging from? 


(This is me, posing with my Talon ARC that I won last week!)  

My name is Becca, and I started Pivot Book Reviews on January 1st of this year, so I've been blogging for five months now, and love every single second of it! I got into blogging because I love reading, and I love talking about reading, but none of my friends IRL do so what better way is there to connect with other book lovers than starting a book blog? I couldn't think of one, so here I am! I blog from the state of Oklahoma, right smack dab in the middle of the US, where the weather changes about as quickly as you can blink your eyes! If you want to know more about me, check out my About Me tab at the top! There's a really awkward video I made, where my dog won't stop barking in the background. Trust me, it's hilarious!

2. Describe your blog in just one sentence. Then, list your social details -- Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, etc. -- so we can connect more online. 

Pivot Book Reviews not only pivots you in the right direction for your newest book obsession, but also recreates your favorite book covers every week with her dogs with the the feature COVER PUPPIES!

Twitter - @PIVOTBOOKREVIEW
Instagram - @PIVOTBOOKREVIEWS
Facebook - Personal / Blog
Goodreads - Becca Fowler (PivotBookReviews)
Bloglovin - Personal / Blog

3. What genre do you read the most? Anything YA, but I really love Sci-Fi, Fantasy, and Contemporaries at the moment!  I love to read because it helps me escape. 

4. What was your favorite book read last year? Pivot Point by Kasie West. What’s your favorite book so far this year? The Winner's Curse by Marie Rutkoski!

5. Share your favorite book or reading related quote. 

"I used to think that when people fell in love, they just landed where they landed, and they had no choice in the matter afterward. And maybe that's true of beginnings, but it's not true of this, now. I fell in love with him. But I don't just stay with him by default as if there's no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me." 

-Allegiant by Veronica Roth

That's it for my introduction questions! It was really hard to narrow things down, but I got through it! I cannot wait to visit blogs this week, and learn about everyone and meet new people!! It's definitely going to be a blast!

Are you participating in Armchair BEA this week?
Or are you one of the lucky ones who's actually going to BE at BEA?

post signature

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart - Review

Friday, May 23, 2014 6
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Published by: Delacorte Press on May 13th, 2014
Series: No
Pages: 240
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Contemporary/Mystery
Source: Purchased
Rating: 2/5
Buy the Book  or   Add it to Goodreads!

FROM GOODREADS: 
A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends- the Liars- whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

MY THOUGHTS:

Dear We Were Liars,

You and me? We just can't be friends. I know, I know. I'm the total black sheep with my opinion on you. Everyone else seems to love you! Ironically, this was the exact reason I decided to pick you up. Normally, I wouldn't have given you a second look, because you just aren't my type. 

BUT THE HYPE FOR YOU! Wow, there is so much hype revolving around you, and I'll admit it was driving me nuts not being in the know about what you were all about. So I took a risk, but I feel like I'm missing something. Sure, I read you in one sitting, and your prose was beautiful. I was curious indeed. So much drama, and suspense, and lies, lies, lies. I desperately needed to know what the heck was going on, but when I finally found out, I felt a little bit let down. I thought it was going to be something of epic proportions- not something that I had actually already considered was going on. Maybe I would've felt differently if I wouldn't have known you had a certain twist about you. Maybe. But I suppose that's something we will never know. 

I wish I could've gone into you a little more blindly, and not seen the amount of hype built up about your shocking ending, because I just wasn't shocked, and really I just want more explanation. I read through you, and deciphered everything I could as I read, because everyone says they want to go back and reread you to see the clues, but I just....*shrugs shoulders*. Overall, you were interesting, but just not amazing to me. I feel more meh about you more than anything.

Not so much love,

Becca

Was this review helpful?
Have you read We Were Liars?
Let me know in the comments!

As always, thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews! <3

post signature

Cover Puppies (17) - The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Thursday, May 22, 2014 8
Cover Puppies is a weekly post here on Pivot Book Reviews, where I combine my extreme love for my doggies and YA books, and recreate my favorite book covers with my puppies!

This week, I'm featuring.. 

(Gentry & Dixie)

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green!

FROM GOODREADS: Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten. 

Buy the Book!
**

Of course, the pups weren't too happy about having to lay next to each other so I didn't even try to do it on actual grass, but I still think it turned out really cute even with the photoshopped grass! But if you haven't read TFiOS, WHY NOT?!?! I've read it twice, because apparently, I like to torture myself and make myself cry numerous times. I cannot wait to see the movie, which releases June 6th. I'm sure I'll be a sobbing maniac in the theatre, but if anyone says anything? I'll just yell, "THAT'S THE THING ABOUT PAIN...IT DEMANDS TO BE FELT!!!!" in their face, while I continue to bawl. Yes, I will be that person. You've been warned! :)

Thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews, and be sure to hit that follow button so you get the newest Cover Puppies posts the second I hit publish!!
post signature
Copyright © 2014 Pivot Book Reviews
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs