Bookish Banter (10) - Book Juggler or Single Booker?

Monday, March 31, 2014 14

Welcome, welcome to Bookish Banter! This is a weekly blog post where I talk about bookish topics with Elizabeth of Redhead Reader and Ellen of Pottermorebooks!

This week's discussion is...

Do you read one book at a time, or do you take on more than one? And if more than one, how many have you juggled at one time?

My answer...

Confession time, guys.

I'm a one book at a time reader.

Does that make me a total black sheep or not?

I'm not sure what it is about juggling more than one book that frightens me, honestly. Maybe it's the daunting fact that I'm scared I might get plot lines confused and twisted. Maybe it's because I kind of feel like I'm cheating on my "significant other" book. 

OR just maybe it's a bit of both.

This could be a huge assumption for me to make, but I just always thought other bloggers read more than one book at a time. Because HOLY COW! Some of ya'll read like the wind!! I will admit though that during my short three months of blogging, I finally read TWO books at one time. I KNOW! I CHEATED!! 

*hangs head in shame*

BUT I just was not feeling Cress. *hangs head farther in shame* I am on some weird Contemporary kick at the moment, which is weird all in itself, because all of you by now, should know that Becca is NOT a Contemporary Reader, but right now I am going through a "I NEED ALL THE CONTEMPS RIGHT MEOW" phase. So I picked up If I Lie by Corrine Jackson (OMG SO GOOD) and read it after I started stalling on Cress. Granted I was only about 60 pages into Cress at that point in time. I completely devoured If I Lie in a few hours, and then started back up with Cress and now I can't seem to put it down. Actually it was a struggle to pry my eyes away long enough to type up this post. 

So my question for you guys is- wait, I totes have more than just one.... 

 
Do you ever go through stages where you just read something completely different that you never ever would have touched with a ten foot pole before? Are you a book juggler or a single faithful reader? Let me know in the comments! 

P.S. I am in the mood for a book that is going to rip my heart to shreds. I'm thinking along the lines of a Nicholas Sparks type book or John Green style. Have any recommendations for me? 

post signature

Cover Puppies (10) - Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

Thursday, March 27, 2014 9


Cover Puppies is a weekly post here on Pivot Book Reviews, where I combine my extreme love for my doggies and YA books, and recreate my favorite book covers!

This week, I am featuring...


(Gentry with Cruel Beauty)

Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge!!

From Goodreads: 
Graceling meets Beauty and the Beast in this sweeping fantasy about one girl's journey to fulfill her destiny and the monster who gets in her way- by stealing her heart.

Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.

Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom- all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.

With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to sae her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she's ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.

But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle- a shifting maze of magical rooms- enthralls her.

As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex's secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love. 


 

WEEE! Cover Puppies is finally back, ya'll! Sorry it's been awhile! I have not had a chance to read Cruel Beauty yet unfortunately, but as I was perusing my shelves looking for a cover to recreate, I came across it and just KNEW I had to do it. It's just so beautiful!! Plus this book is about my favorite fairytale in the whole wide world! I am really looking forward to diving into this one soon!

**

Did you like this feature?
Have a cover you are dying for me to recreate?
Let me know in the comments! I heart comment love!

Thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews, and be sure to follow so you get the newest Cover Puppies posts the second I hit publish!!!



post signature

Waiting on Wednesday (11)

Wednesday, March 26, 2014 22
Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking The Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release that you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:

Dangerous Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl
Releases on: May 20th, 2014  Add it to Goodreads!

From Goodreads: A new series returns to the world of Beautiful Creatures. Some loves are cursed...others are dangerous.

Ridley Duchannes will be the first to tell you that she's a bad girl. She's Dark. She's a Siren. You can never trust her, or even yourself when she's around. Lucky for her, Wesley "Link" Lincoln can never seem to remember that; quarter Incubus or not, his heart is Mortal when it comes to Ridley. When Link heads to New York City to start a music career, Ridley goes along for the ride- and she has her own reasons. As if leaving small-town Gatlin for the big city, trying to form a band, and surviving life with a partially reformed Siren isn't hard enough already, Link soon learns he has a price on his head that no Caster or Mortal can ever pay.

Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, the #1 New York Times bestselling coauthors of Beautiful Creatures, are back and casting another magical spell. Their signature mixture of mystery, suspense, and romance, along with a dash of fun and danger, will pull fans in and leave them begging for more.


Why I'm waiting: Uh, HELLO?! It's a spin off of Beautiful Creatures, which I'll admit I tried to read forever ago and couldn't get into, but I recently read them all and loved them this time around. My tastes are always changing! I can't wait to read more about Ridley and Link, and I really hope we will see other characters make appearances too! It sounds awesome!! 


What do you think of my choice?
What's your choice for this week's WoW?
Let me know in the comments, and leave me a link to your WoW post, so I can leave some comment love on yours!!

Also, if you followed me, I would love you forever and ever! LET ME LOVE YOU!! *cough* Sorry if that was creepy, but I need MORE book loving friends!! You can never have too many! That's what I always say (or type, in this case!!)

Thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews!


post signature

Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott - Review

Tuesday, March 25, 2014 18
Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott
Series: Fire & Flood #1
Published by: Scholastic on Feb 25th, 2014
Pages: 304
Format: Hardcover
Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopian
Source: Purchased
Rating: 3/5
Buy the Book   or   Add to Goodreads!

FROM GOODREADS: A modern day thrill ride, where a teen girl and her animal companion must participate in a breathtaking race to save her brother's life- and her own.

Tella Holloway is losing it. Her brother is sick, and when a dozen doctors can't determine what's wrong, her parents decide to move to Montana for the fresh air. She's lost her friends, her parents are driving her crazy, her brother is dying- and she's helpless to change anything.

Until she receives mysterious instructions on how to become a Contender in the Brimstone Bleed. It's an epic race across jungle, desert, ocean, and mountain that could win her the prize she desperately desires: the Cure for her brother's illness. But all the Contenders are after the Cure for people they love, and there's no guarantee that Tella (or any of them) will survive the race.

The jungle is terrifying, the clock is ticking, and Tella knows she can't trust the allies she makes. And one big question emerges: Why have so many fallen sick in the first place?

MY THOUGHTS: 

Fire & Flood was one of my most anticipated books of this spring. Honestly, I was trying like crazy to win a copy of this, but no such luck. Of course, I pre-ordered it and popped it open it minute I got it. The book I had been wanting so badly was finally in my hands, and it was going to be amazing. But (there's always a but) it wasn't for me. I was let down by Fire & Flood.

It started out well enough, though. Fire & Flood was my first venture into Victoria Scott's books, and I figured if I loved it as much as I thought I would that I would be picking up her other series too, but I'm not so sure I will be now. Tella's snark was hilarious. I immediately found myself cracking up out loud at some of her remarks and thoughts. Scott wastes no time jumping into the action either. Within a few chapters, Tella is already on her journey to find out what in the world the Brimstone Bleed is.

I was flipping pages pretty fast at this point, but after Tella got her animal companion, I kind of started to lose interest. I'm not really sure why. I just didn't really feel the need to finish the book anymore. Weird, I know, but I persevered and finished because I refuse to DNF a book unless I absolutely loathe it. I think maybe Tella's snark and attitude about things just started to become a little annoying to me after awhile. Plus don't even get me started on the romance. No, wait- I mean the attempt at romance. I still don't understand how you can go from hating someone and not talking to them to making out with them and loving them in a few days. It just didn't make sense to me.

Overall, I thought Fire & Flood was a good read. Did I think it was a book that you need to drop everything and read right this second? No. Did I hate it completely? Not that either, but if you are in the mood for a unique adventurous read filled with cute and badass animal companions, then Fire & Flood is a book you should check out. I could be the black sheep on this one, I'm not sure. I still haven't decided if I will pick up book two or not. I might just to see where the story goes, but at this point, I don't have a burning desire to find out either. I give Fire & Flood three hearts, because while it was entertaining and not necessarily bad, it just wasn't for me for some reason. 


Was this review helpful?
Have you read Fire & Flood?
Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews! Don't forget to check out the popular Cover Puppies posts, where I recreate my favorite book covers with my dogs!


post signature

Bookish Banter (8/9) - Ebook or Bound/Favorite Reading Spot

Monday, March 24, 2014 8
Welcome, welcome to Bookish Banter! This is a weekly blog post where I talk about bookish topics with Elizabeth of Redhead Reader and Ellen of Pottermorebooks!

This weeks discussion is...

Which do you prefer? Ebook or Bound book? 

and 

Favorite reading positions/locations?

My answer:

Okay so since I suck and missed last week's Bookish Banter, I am covering both topics this week to make up for it!

I seriously loathe Ebooks. I just- I just can't do it, guys.

It's blasphemy.

I adore physical bound books. The distinct smell of books, the feel of flipping an actual page, the sound of a new book creaking open. Ahh, there is absolutely nothing like it. 

I won't lie. I tried the whole Ebook thing. I really did. I bought myself a kindle this past Christmas, just because I wanted to read the extra stories that don't come in the actual books, and I disliked it so much that I had to send it back for a refund. I don't like reading from a tablet. I already read so much on my phone/computer that my eyes are horrible. I can't subject myself to actually reading an entire book on a screen too. It's too much for me. I will never convert to an Ebook, unless they just stop publishing physical books altogether. That is the absolute ONLY way I'll ever read Ebooks. I'm for real. 

Now on to the second topic, the one I'm actually supposed to be discussing today. I have to force myself to write about this before my Ebook rant gets out of hand, because trust me, I could go on and on about why I don't like them. I won't subject you to it anymore than I already have. 

I honestly really only have one place that I read, and that's in my bed. I'm not really sure why. I also read a lot while I'm out working, because there's a lot of driving time in between jobs. NO! I do not read and drive at the same time! Haha, I don't have a death wish. I'm usually the passenger, but really I can read any and everywhere. Those are just my two most frequent reading locations.



Which do you prefer, Ebook or Bound Book?
What are some of your favorite reading spots/locations?
Let me know in the comments! 

Stay updated on everything on Pivot Book Reviews and the ever popular Cover Puppies posts by following me! Don't be afraid to connect with me! I love talking about books with other book lovers! 




post signature

I'M ALIVE......

Wednesday, March 19, 2014 14
I swear, I am.

I know I've been absent a heck of a lot longer than I intended to. Life has just been crazy. I planned my blog hiatus, and then got extremely sick. Apparently I'm horribly allergic to cedar trees. Who knew? 

When I finally started feeling better, I went on a very important quest to rid the world of any and every cedar tree in existence. 

Not really, but I wish I could have, because seriously, I have never felt so horrible in my life. That's most likely an exaggeration, but not too big of one, because trust me, it was awful. I am still sporting the Rudolph nose to prove how sick I was. I would post a pic, but you really do not want to be subjected to that. Use your imagination, instead. 

So of course, I did not get any thing at all done like I had initially planned. I know, I suck. So at this point, I'm basically saying to heck with responding to the comments I needed to, but I promise I read every single one of them and I love you so much for taking the time to leave such thoughtful responses. Right now, I'm wiping my slate clean, and starting fresh. I will reply to any comments posted starting today, I pinky swear! Since I didn't get anything prepared while I was being attacked by the ALL THE ALLERGIES, there will not be a Cover Puppies post this week. It takes me awhile to get those posts put together, and today is the first time I've even looked at emails/blog/stuff since last Friday. I was just too pooped with my emotions all over the place and my being sick on top of that. 

HOWEVER...

I AM BACK!! Just bare with me on getting some posts up and scheduled again, because to say I'm not behind at all would be the biggest understatement in the universe. 

One last thing, I am so thankful to say I came back to my blog without losing any of my followers. I cannot tell you how grateful I am that you all stuck by me during this rough patch, and it has been rough for me. I want to thank each and every one of you for your sweet and thoughtful condolences on the passing of my dear friend and the deployment of my Marine. Your kind words got me through each and every day. I've heard from Marine quite a few times since he left, and he's doing great over there! If you would keep him in your thoughts and pray for a safe journey and return home, I would be forever grateful!! 

Anyways, that's about it from my end for now!
 I love each and every one of you to the moon and back! 

post signature

DONNA OF THE DEAD Blog Tour - Guest Post

Friday, March 14, 2014 10

Alison Kemper's Top 5 Favorite Zombie Movies / TV Shows

1.     28 Days Later

My all-time favorite zombie movie. Why? Because zombies are scary when they’re fast. Best scene: when the dad and daughter have to change a tire in the tunnel, and we can hear the zombies getting closer. EEEEK. If you’ve never seen this film, and you’re in the mood for solidly scary zombies, give this one a shot.  

2.     Walking Dead

I was hooked from the very first episode, and now Sunday nights are something I look forward to all week (yes, I am a zombie nerd). I refuse to read the graphic novels until the series finishes.

3.     Warm Bodies

It’s got zombies! It’s got romance! It’s got zombie romance! Also, it has Nicholas Hoult. Who says zombies can’t be hot?

4.     Zombieland

Something about the undead lends itself to crazy, campy humor in a way that doesn’t work with other horrifying monsters. This one’s got Bill Murray, zombie clowns, and an epic search for Twinkies.

5.     Shaun of the Dead

If I was ever stuck in a zombie apocalypse, I’d probably be about as useless as these nerds. Shaun of the Dead was a HUGE influence on my novel, Donna of the Dead. I love the idea of a bunch of friends stuck in a zombie apocalypse, struggling to survive, and sort of bumbling their way through with a lot of funny mistakes. (On a side note, I still think of Cousin Isobel from Downton Abbey—second from the right—as “Shaun’s mum”).

Honorable Mentions

  •  Game of Thrones: Are the White Walkers zombies? Or do they turn humans into “wights” who act in a zombie-like way? I’m not sure of the technicalities, and so far, we’re just getting hints about an impending war with the undead. But it looks like we’re ramping up for some serious zombie action in Season 4.
  •  Dawn of the Dead: classic zombie flick
  • World War Z: Like everyone has said in countless places, the movie is nothing like the book. But that doesn’t mean it’s not awesome and action-packed. That scene at the wall in Jerusalem? Yow.
  •   I Am Legend: Lots of debate about whether these creatures are actually zombies—in the novella, they’re more like vampires, but the film gets lumped in with zombie flicks. Either way, great monsters. 
About the Book 

Author: Alison Kemper
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Pub. Date: March 4, 2014
Pages: 250

Donna Pierce might hear voices, but that doesn’t mean she’s crazy. Probably.

The voices do serve their purpose, though—whenever Donna hears them, she knows she’s in danger. So when they start yelling at the top of their proverbial lungs, it’s no surprise she and her best friend, Deke, end up narrowly escaping a zombie horde. Alone without their families, they take refuge at their high school with the super-helpful nerds, the bossy head cheerleader, and—best of all?—Lance, hottie extraordinaire and Donna’s long-time crush. When Lance is around, it’s easy to forget about the moaning zombies, her dad’s plight to reach them, and how weird Deke is suddenly acting toward her.

But as the teens’ numbers dwindle and their escape plans fall apart, Donna has to listen to the secrets those voices in her head have been hiding. It seems not all the zombies are shuffling idiots, and the half-undead aren’t really down with kids like Donna…

About Alison:
Alison Kemper grew up in South Florida, the only girl on a street with eleven boys. She spent most of her childhood paddling a canoe through neighborhood canals and looking for adventure. She usually found it. Sometimes the police were involved. And large dogs. And one time, a very territorial snake. She now lives in North Carolina and writes books. The books often include girls having adventures. With boys. Cute boys. And cute dogs too. But no cute snakes. Never cute snakes.

Her debut novel, Donna of the Dead, will be published by Entangled Teen in 2014 and followed by two companion novels. She loves to meet new people and talk books, so send her a friend request or connect with her on Twitter and Instagram.




Giveaway Details: 


15 Zombie Swag Bags that include $5 Amazon card, Donna of the Dead mints (don't get caught with zombie breath) and exploding eye gumballs (they squirt red goo when you bite into them, but are surprisingly delicious)!

Rafflecopter Code:


Tour Schedule:

Week One:
3/10/2014- Watcha ReadingReview
3/10/2014- Parajunkee's ViewInterview
3/11/2014- Creating SerenityReview
3/11/2014- Fantasy Book AddictGuest Post
3/12/2014- Clever Girls ReadReview
3/12/2014- Step Into FictionInterview
3/13/2014- Taking It One Book at a TimeReview
3/13/2014- Library of the SeenExcerpt
3/14/2014- Racing To ReadReview
3/14/2014- Pivot Book ReviewsGuest Post

Week Two:
3/17/2014- The Reading DiariesReview
3/17/2014- Addicted Readers- Interview
3/18/2014- Sabrina's Paranormal Palace - Review
3/18/2014- Happy BookerExcerpt
3/19/2014- vvb32 reads - Review
3/19/2014- Curling Up With A Good BookInterview
3/20/2014- The Phantom ParagrapherReview
3/20/2014- Imagine a WorldExcerpt
3/21/2014- Mom With A KindleReview
3/21/2014- Comfort BooksGuest Post

post signature

Waiting on Wednesday (10)

Wednesday, March 12, 2014 10

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking The Spine, where you can spotlight an upcoming release that you're eagerly anticipating!

This week I'm waiting on:


Deep Blue (Waterfire Saga #1) by Jennifer Donnelly 
Releases on: May 6th, 2014  Add it to Goodreads!

FROM GOODREADS: The first in a series of four epic tales in the depths of the ocean, where six mermaids seek to protect and save their hidden world.

Deep in the ocean, in a world not so different from our own, live the merpeople. Their communities are spread throughout the oceans, seas, and freshwaters all over the globe.

When Serafina, a mermaid of the Mediterranean Sea, awakens on the morning of her betrothal, her biggest worry should be winning the love of handsome Prince Mahdi. And yet Sera finds herself haunted by strange dreams that foretell the return of an ancient evil. Her dark premonitions are confirmed when an assassin's arrow poisons Sera's mother. Now, Serafina must embark on a quest to find the assassin's master and prevent a war between the Mer nations. Led only by her shadowy dreams, Sera searches for five other mermaid heroines who are scattered across the six seas. Together, they will form an unbreakable bond of sisterhood and uncover a conspiracy that threatens their world's very existence.

Why I'm waiting: Dude. This book sounds epic! Mermaids?! Say whaaat?! Plus it's a Disney-Hyperion book, and I always seem to devour their books!! Simply CANNOT wait to get my hands on this one!!! 

What do you think of my choice?
What's your choice for this week's WoW?
Let me know in the comments, and leave me a link to your WoW post, so I can leave some comment love on yours!!

Also, if you followed me, I would love you forever and ever! LET ME LOVE YOU!! *cough* Sorry if that was creepy, but I need MORE book loving friends!! You can never have too many! That's what I always say (or type, in this case!!)

Thanks for visiting Pivot Book Reviews!

post signature

BLOGGING HIATUS!

Monday, March 10, 2014 10
I'M SOWWY.

Alright, ladies and gents of the interwebz. The time has come for me to take a brief hiatus from blogging. I am so behind on comments and posts and ALL THE THINGS, that it is honestly, just plain ridiculous. I feel horrible. The last week has been a whirlwind for me. I had a close friend of mine pass away in a car accident, and my Marine was deployed, so if I were to say that my mind has been on nearly everything other than blogging, it wouldn't be an exaggeration. I've just been so preoccupied with my emotions that I've fallen behind, and I am so sorry!! I am completely overwhelmed to put it simply, and if I were to try and catch up without a tiny break, I would end up thoroughly exhausting myself. I've actually found myself in a reading slump on top of everything else. The stress on my shoulders right now is just too much to try to catch up without taking a breather. But don't worry! I still have a few odd posts scheduled for this week, but other than that, I will be spending the rest of the week trying to catch up and get ahead again! Unfortunately, I hate to say there will not be a Cover Puppies post this Thursday, and I know you all look forward to them so much, but I hope you understand the reasons why there won't be! I will be back full force on Sunday, so prepare yourself! I won't disappear completely, though. You can still find me on Goodreads, Twitter, and Instagram, so don't hesitate to holla at me on them!! I'll miss you all over the next week!!

Thank you again for understanding! I hearts every single one of you!!!


post signature

Bookish Banter (7) - Abandoning Books

9

Welcome, welcome to the fourth edition of Bookish Banter! This is a weekly blog post where I talk about bookish topics with Elizabeth of Redhead Reader and Ellen of Pottermorebooks!

This weeks discussion is...


At what point do you abandon a book?

My answer:

Uh, what? 
People abandoned books?
This is a thing?

HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE?!

Okay. I'll admit I have like less than a handful of books that I haven't finished, but honestly, I'm usually very vigilant about finishing books, because most of the books I have, I buy with my own hard-earned money. I just can't justify not finishing a book that I spent money on. I will force myself to read every single word, no matter how much I hate it, because I know if I don't I will let the guilt of not reading it completely stress me out. Does anyone else have this problem, or *gasp* am I the only one?

What about you?
At what point do you abandon a book?
Let me know in the comments! 

Stay updated on everything on Pivot Book Reviews and the ever popular Cover Puppies posts by following me! Don't be afraid to connect with me! I love talking about books with other book lovers! 

post signature
Copyright © 2014 Pivot Book Reviews
Template and Design by New Chapter Designs